Granton High School
Wins Award


For the second time in as many years, Granton High School has been named a “New Wisconsin Promise School of Recognition.”  State Superintendent Elizabeth Burmaster praised Granton High School for being among the state’s 163 schools that received New Wisconsin Promise School of Recognition honors for the 2007-2008 school year during a special Oct. 3rd ceremony at the State Capitol in Madison.

Burmaster welcomed Renae Guldan, Granton’s district guidance counselor, and Lorna Vasquez, Granton’s high school math teacher, noting that schools receiving the New Wisconsin Promise School of Recognition Award are devoted to creating a learning climate that helps all children succeed.  Burmaster stated, “New Wisconsin Promise Schools of Recognition are beating the odds in increasing student achievement.”  She went on to praise all school stakeholders by saying, “Through the hard work and leadership of teachers, parents, administrators, and other staff members at these schools, we are fulfilling our New Wisconsin Promise to provide quality education to each and every child in our state.”

When asked what it means to have Granton high school recognized for the second time in two years, Granton superintendent Rich Rehm stated, “I am very proud of our staff and students for the success and notoriety they have received.  This recognition shows that hard work does pay off in the end.  I personally want to congratulate our entire school community for their dedication in helping our students achieve at a high level.”


  State Superintendent Elizabeth Burmaster (left) presents the award to Granton

High School’s Lorna Vazquez (center) and Renae Guldan (Contributed photo)


Source: Clark County Press, Neillsville, WI

November 7, 2007, page 7

Transcribed by Dolores Mohr Kenyon, November 13, 2007

Web page by James W. Sternitzky PhD, November 17, 2007

Return to Grant Township Schools Web Page

Return to Grant Township Home Page



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel