Granton Native Becomes
State FFA Officer 2023

FFA Reinart Woller Pongratz 2023

From l-r, Granton FFA members Lizzy Reinart, Abby Woller and Alexis Pongratz
receive State Degrees at the State Convention in Madison, June 19.
Submitted photo


The Granton School District’s FFA members just returned from the State Convention in Madison June 19.


“We are proud to say that Granton was well-represented at the convention,” Katie Reider said, agriculture educator and FFA advisor for the Granton Area School District. “We may be a small town, but our FFA chapter is mighty.”


Sixteen FFA members submitted proficiency applications. Eleven of these members earned gold placings and six of those gold placings were state finalists.


Overall, Alexis Pongratz earned second gold in service learning, Abby Woller earned second gold in fruit production, Lizzy Reinart earned fifth gold in agricultural education, Jordan Berg third gold in agricultural communications, Tori Seif placed fifth gold in vegetable production and Faustina Thomas earned third gold in diversified crop production-placement.


Jordan Berg competed in the Agriscience Fair in the category of Social Systems Division 3. She conducted a study of how the agronomy practices differ among large and small-scale dairy farms in Wisconsin. She won and will be advancing to Nationals.


The Granton FFA chapter ranked gold and will be advancing to nationals for the National Chapter Award. The chapter also had the ninth place Building Communities program in the state. A few of the Building Communities program activities included Haunted Forest, Clark County Christmas Angel Project and Project Merry Christmas.


The Middle School Quiz Bowl team competed and placed fourth. Team members were Jessi Berg, Kadyn Marg and Iris Vine.


The Parliamentary Procedure team competed and placed third. Team members were Jordan Berg, Anna Kayhart, Pongratz, Reinart, Abby Schoessow and Abby Woller.


The Granton chapter had three State Degree recipients. For 2023, there were 382 State Degrees given out to Wisconsin FFA members. Pongratz, Reinart and Abby Woller earned this honor and were presented with a certificate and their State Degree chain.  


The Granton chapter scrapbook made it into the top 10. The Granton 2022-23 chapter reporter, Seif, put in over 40 hours working on the scrapbook and was really excited to know that it made the top 10.


The chapter had four students participate in the State Honors Chorus and three students play in the State Honors Band, which required an audition and subsequent acceptance into. Pongratz, Seif, Emma Woller and Marg sang in the choir, while Emma Brookhart, Jessi Berg and Abby Woller played in the band.


“This experience kept them very busy during the convention,” Reider said, “but both groups sounded beautiful during every performance.”


The Agricultural Communications Career Development Event Team won the state competition in April. Team members Jordan Berg, Reinart, Seif and Kennedy Young were recognized on stage as the state winners. This team will compete at the National FFA Convention at the beginning of November.


“We are so excited for them!” Reider said.


Pongratz was also named a 3-Star Leader based on her leadership of the chapter when she served as the 2022-23 chapter president.


Tori Seif was one of 20 students who competed in the talent competition hosted at the State Convention. She sang Zach Bryan’s “Something in the Orange” while playing the acoustic guitar.


“Her performance was beautiful,” Reider said.


Lastly, the Granton FFA chapter had two students throw their hats into the ring and run for Section 7 State FFA Officer.


“Many chapters go decades without having a student run for state officer,” Reider said. “But we were fortunate to have two candidates from Granton this year­—Alexis Pongratz and Lizzy Reinart.”


Reinart was named a 2023-24 Wisconsin FFA State Officer and will be serving Section 7 as a vice president.



From the Clark County Press, Neillsville, WI

June 28, 2023

Transcribed by Dolores Mohr Kenyon, June 29, 2023

Web page by James W. Sternitzky PhD, June 30, 2023

Return to Grant Township Community Web Page

Return to Grant Township Web Page



**This Clark Co., WI Internet Library, ALHN & AHGP website is dedicated to the free sharing of information by researchers, local historians, genealogists and educators.  Because of our non-profit status, submissions are not to be used for profiteering of any kind.   Our representatives cannot accept gratuities beyond the basic expenses (i.e. postage, copying, courthouse or rental fees) for obtaining requested information.  We reserve the right to ban the involvement of anyone who intentionally disregards these policies.  Promotion of research services or publications is not permitted on these pages, or by our representatives without the prior endorsement of the site overseers.  If you need professional help, we recommend contacting an accredited genealogist.   Please show your appreciation for this database by Becoming a Clark County History Buff or making a contribution to our Support Fund and Perpetual Preservation Account to help keep this Clark Co., WI database freely available on the World Wide Web and free from commercial enterprise.


*** This copyrighted Clark Co., Wis. genealogy and history material is used on this nonprofit site with permission of the submitter.  Contact us if you are personally aware of anyone using this submitted data inappropriately.  It may not be copied and posted on any commercial genealogy sites such as Family Tree Maker or the merged companies Ancestry.Com/RootsWeb/MyFamily or sold for personal profit.






© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel