Granton Rotary Presents
 Paul Harris and Perfect Attendance
2009 Awards


The Granton Chapter of Rotary International named four Paul Harris Fellows and one 30-year perfect attendance recipient at an awards program held Tuesday evening, Sept. 29.  The distinction for the Paul Harris Fellows is awarded to those members who donate $1,000 or have received credit for that amount of donation to the Rotary Foundation for humanitarian efforts. Two of these four awards were made possible by contributions from the Granton Rotary Club; the other two awards were made possible by being recipients of the transfer of recognition Foundation points from other Rotary members, namely Marge Garbisch and John and Debbie Trewyn.


The four Rotary members receiving the Paul Harris Fellows awards were Carter Wegner, John Richmond, Virginia Richmond and Sandra Hanuszczak.  Each received the medallion, lapel pin and certificate honoring their designation as a Paul Harris Fellow.


Paul Harris Award 2009


Four Paul Harris Fellows awards were presented at the Sept. 29 meeting of the Granton Rotary Club.

Pictured are former District Governor Tom Marshall (far right) and his wife Joey Marshall (far left),

With recipients (l-r) Sandy Hanuszczak, Carter Wegner, Virginia Richmond and John Richmond
(Contributed photo)


Although the Granton Chapter has only 22 members, 22 have been awarded the Paul Harris Fellow Award.   Of those 22 recipients, only 13 are current Granton Rotary members.  The other nine recipients were former members.


Another award, for 30 years of perfect attendance, was presented to Orville Garbisch, recognizing his service and dedication to the Granton Rotary Club.  He is always there assisting with the club’s many activities, meetings, programs and with whatever is going on in the Granton Rotary.


Orville Garbisch


A 30-year perfect attendance award was presented to Orville Garbisch at the

Granton Rotary Club meeting Sept. 29   (Contributed photo)


Present for the Chapter’s celebration was the Past District 6250 Governor Tom Marshall and his wife Joey, who assisted with the program presentations. There are 62 Rotary chapters in District 6250 with over 3,200 members, covering the southwestern portion of Wisconsin.  Granton Rotary Club continues to be one of the most active in the district.  A prior year’s district governor stated, “It is the greatest Little Club in District 6250."


To date, the Granton Chapter has given the Rotary Foundation just over $24,000.  It has also given $1,250 towards a well in Haiti.  Currently, world wide eradication of polio has almost been accomplished.


The Granton Rotary is a very active club, with a monthly attendance of about 96 percent.  The club meets every Tuesday evening at 6 p.m. at the Southern Clark County Sportsman’s Club in Granton.  Virginia Richmond prepares the meal each week.  The Club acts as a chamber of commerce for the small village and is known for its community service.  The club was organized in 1943 and one-third of its members are female.


The club participates in various Granton Fall Festival activities, such as selecting the honored citizen each year.  Other community activities include “Adopt a Highway” project, volunteering at the park concessions stand one night each week during the summer, sponsoring the children’s Christmas party at school, giving four scholarships to graduating seniors from the Granton High School, donating to the local food pantry, and other community concerns.  The Granton Rotary Club’s goal is to do good in the world.  Members realize they have the power to change thousand of lives, not only in the community, but through Rotary International.


Current Granton Rotary Club officers are Carter Wegner, president; James Chadwick, president elect; John Richmond, vice president; Jeanette Steiner, secretary; and Ronald Webster, treasurer.


New members are always welcome, or just come and visit the club – “Eat, meet and visit."


  Clark County Press, Neillsville, WI

October 14, 2009, Page 4

Transcribed by Dolores Mohr Kenyon, November 1, 2009

Web page by James W. Sternitzky PhD, November 6, 2009

Return to Grant Township Community Web Page

Return to Grant Township Home Page



**This Clark Co., WI Internet Library, ALHN & AHGP website is dedicated to the free sharing of information by researchers, local historians, genealogists and educators.  Because of our non-profit status, submissions are not to be used for profiteering of any kind.   Our representatives cannot accept gratuities beyond the basic expenses (i.e. postage, copying, courthouse or rental fees) for obtaining requested information.  We reserve the right to ban the involvement of anyone who intentionally disregards these policies.  Promotion of research services or publications is not permitted on these pages, or by our representatives without the prior endorsement of the site overseers.  If you need professional help, we recommend contacting an accredited genealogist.   Please show your appreciation for this database by Becoming a Clark County History Buff or making a contribution to our Support Fund and Perpetual Preservation Account to help keep this Clark Co., WI database freely available on the World Wide Web and free from commercial enterprise.


*** This copyrighted Clark Co., Wis. genealogy and history material is used on this nonprofit site with permission of the submitter.  Contact us if you are personally aware of anyone using this submitted data inappropriately.  It may not be copied and posted on any commercial genealogy sites such as Family Tree Maker or the merged companies Ancestry.Com/RootsWeb/MyFamily or sold for personal profit.





© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel