Clark County Agricultural Society




As Adopted at the First Meeting of the Society, at Neillsville, Wis., March 15th 1873, and Subsequently Amended.


                ARTICLE I.  Name of Society. – This Society shall be known as the “Clark County Agricultural Society.”  Its object shall be to promote the advertisement of Agriculture, Horticulture, Domestic Manufactures and Mechanical and Household Arts.


                ART. II.  Membership.  Its members shall consist of Annual Members, paying a fee of two dollars per year, and Life Member, paying a fee of ten dollars at one time.  The wives of all members shall be Honorary Members, and entitled to all privileges of members, except the right to vote.


                ART. III.  Officers. – Its officers shall consist of a President, one Vice President from each organized town in the County, a Secretary, an Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, and Executive Board, which shall consist of all the officers above named, all of whom shall be elected at the annual meeting, and serve from the first day of January to the thirty first day of December, and until their successors are elected.


                ART. IV.  Meeting, Elections and Fairs. – It shall hold annual meetings and other meeting, and an Annual Fair as the Society or Executive Board my direct, and all officers shall be elected, and all questions pertaining to the business of the Society shall be decided, by a majority vote of the male members present, except in the case of amending the Constitution, which shall be effected as prescribed by Article VI of the Constitution.


                ART. V.  Power and duties of Officers. – The officers shall perform such duties as are common to such officers in like associations, and as may be required by the Executive Board or by the By-Laws of this Society


                ART. VI.  Amendments. – This Constitution may be amended at any general meeting of the Society by a two-thirds vote of the members present.



  1. The President shall preside at all meetings of the Society, call meetings of the Executive Board, and under its direction have general superintendency of the affaires of the Society, and direction of the expenditure of money.  He shall deliver an annual address upon some subject connected with agriculture, and shall appoint all committees, unless otherwise provided.
  2. The Vice President’s duties shall be, in the absence or disability of the President, to act in his place, and by personal observation and intercourse with the farmers of their respective towns endeavor to awaken an interest in the Society, obtain accurate information of the condition and progress of all departments of agriculture therein, and report the same in writing annually to the Society.
  3. The Secretary shall keep accurate minutes of the proceedings; shall have charge of the books, papers and reports of the Society, and prepare its report for publication.
  4. The Assistant Secretary shall aid the Secretary to perform the duties of his office, and in the absence or disability of the Secretary, to act in his place.
  5. The Treasurer shall receive and keep an accurate account of all moneys belonging to the Society, and disburse the same only upon the written order of the President, countersigned by the Secretary, which he shall file and return as vouchers, and shall make a report of all receipts and expenditures annually, and oftener, when required by the Executive Board.  Before entering upon his duties he shall give a bond to the Society in the sum of one thousand dollars for the faithful performance of his duties, such bond to be approved by the Executive Board.
  6. The Executive Board shall, subject to the direction of the Society, manage his affairs.  It shall require at least seven of the Executive Board to constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.
  7. These By-Laws may be altered or amended by a majority vote at any general meeting of the Society.

Pages 3-5 of the List of Premiums and Rules and Regulations of the 

Clark County Agricultural Society, for the Fair of 1887. 

Web page by James W. Sternitzky PhD, June 29, 2007.

Return to Index for the 1887 Fair.

Return to Grant Township Web Page



**This Clark Co., WI Internet Library, ALHN & AHGP website is dedicated to the free sharing of information by researchers, local historians, genealogists and educators.  Because of our non-profit status, submissions are not to be used for profiteering of any kind.   Our representatives cannot accept gratuities beyond the basic expenses (i.e. postage, copying, courthouse or rental fees) for obtaining requested information.  We reserve the right to ban the involvement of anyone who intentionally disregards these policies.  Promotion of research services or publications is not permitted on these pages, or by our representatives without the prior endorsement of the site overseers.  If you need professional help, we recommend contacting an accredited genealogist.   Please show your appreciation for this database by Becoming a Clark County History Buff or making a contribution to our Support Fund and Perpetual Preservation Account to help keep this Clark Co., WI database freely available on the World Wide Web and free from commercial enterprise.


*** This copyrighted Clark Co., Wis. genealogy and history material is used on this nonprofit site with permission of the submitter.  Contact us if you are personally aware of anyone using this submitted data inappropriately.  It may not be copied and posted on any commercial genealogy sites such as Family Tree Maker or the merged companies Ancestry.Com/RootsWeb/MyFamily or sold for personal profit.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel.