1938 Freshman Class

Greenwood High School

Contributed by Lorraine (Schwarze) Ernst, transcribed by Janet Schwarze


Click to enlarge photo


Back Row: D. Well, V. Swieso, R. Lindemann, B. Fischer, H. Froelich, D. Horn, A. Olson, S. Gaylord, R. Lindner, N. Horn, E. Speich, P. Schwarze.

Second Row: F. Horn, M. Thorson, L. Hawley, G. Gemmeke, L. Buchsteiner, M. Sloniker, L. Wright, R. Moldenhauer, S. Brown, B. Steiger.

Third Row: K. Perman, E. Miller, R. Severson, O. Francis, B. Stafford, M. Smaldone, L. Smaldone, M. Susa, B. Bredesen, M. Rice, A. Wendt, J. Scheuring.

Fourth Row: Mr. Heinze, Faculty Adviser, E. Froelich, V. Lenherr, M. Podobnik, V. Vogel, M. Einfeldt, S. Yaspelkis, C. Schmidt, J. Dyre.

Fifth Row: Mr. Krahn, Faculty Adviser, E. Ellingson, C. Kippenhan, R. Braun, N. Tompkins, D. Syth, R. Potter, N. Jolivette, R. Englebretson, F. Klinke.


Greetings from the all star cast of the Varsity Play, the outstanding feature produced by directors Herbert F. Krahn and Arley Heinze of the G. H. S. Freshman Studio.


Feature players of our all star cast of fifty-one members are Stanton Gaylord--President; Lois Mae Hawley--Vice President; Norbert Jolivette--Secretary and Treasure, and Maxine Sloniker--Class Reporter.


Our class flower is the rose and our class colors are steel gray and old rose.


During the production, Calvin Gordee, Raymond Pabish and Catherine Braun dropped out.  Geraldine Gemmeke and Robert Braun left for an unwanted stay, but are now back on the set working hard with the rest of us.


Before the sound camera are eight representing the forensic group, fifteen members of the Glee Club, and sixteen band members doing their best for the show.


The picture camera displays scenes starring the seven H. C. A. members and five basketball players.  Specialties from the class have yet to be seen.


Following the more experienced by taking fourth place in most events, we have determined to change this situation, carrying the spice of the evergreen to the higher levels we hope to attain.  This year has been enjoyed by all.  The remaining years should be as happy if we remember our motto--"Build for character, not for fame."


Return to 1938 Index



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel