Bio: Zassenhaus, Fred – Admitted to Million Mile Club (May 1976)

Transcriber: Stan

Surnames: Zassenhaus, Andrew, Brown, Cole, Foster, Froeba, Hoff, Polzin, Young

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 12 May 1976

Fred Zassenhaus of Packaging Corporation of America, Colby Container plant, has been admitted to lifetime membership in the exclusive Million Mile Club of the National Safety Council for driving more than one million miles without a preventable accident. Membership in this international honor society is limited to those professional drivers of any type of vehicle who have demonstrated their expertness and safety consciousness over many years, and despite continued exposure to accident causing traffic situations.

In recognition of his outstanding record and membership in the club, Zassenhaus received a walnut and bronze plaque engraved with his name and organization, together with a gold metallic wallet card similarly engraved. In addition, his name and organization have been entered on a permanent roll of honor at the National safety Council headquarters in Chicago.

This roll of honor will be on display at the National safety Congress held each fall in Chicago.

With Zassenhaus being admitted, this brings the Colby million mile drives list up to a total of nine. Other drivers previously admitted were: Ralph Andrew, Ed Brown, Art Cole, Buford Foster, Tom Froeba, Matt Hoff, Bernard Polzin and Bill Young.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel