Church: Withee - Nazareth Lutheran (90th Anniversary 1983)

Contact: Kathleen E. Englebretson


Surnames: Luetkehoelter, Bungaard, Buch, Poffinbarger, Primley, Engwall, Sullivan, Knudsen, Thomsen

----Source: Marshfield News-Herald (21 October 1983)

The 90th anniversary of Nazareth Lutheran Church in Withee October 8-9 brought together many members, former members and out-of-towners.

Saturday evening's program was nostalgic with stories and songs, interspersed with Danish Foods. In keeping with tradition, the evening ended with round games and folk dancing,

The Rev H.W. Luetkehoelter of Antigo delivered Sunday morning's sermon, returning for the first time since leaving Nazareth's pulpit 12 years ago.

Honored at the afternoon's festivities was Mrs. Anna Bungaard,90, of Colby. Her husband, the late Rev. L.C. Bungaard, served Nazareth from 1942-1949. Speaking for her and other family members was the nonagenarian's son, Axel Bundgaard, professor of physical education at St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minnesota.

The Wausau Lutheran Choir, directed by Philip Buch, Presented six selections at the afternoon program. Following greetings and remarks by the Rev. James Poffinbarger of Milwaukee, the Rev. James Primley of Merrill and the Rev. Paul R. Engwall, Marshfield, the celebration ended with fellowship and refreshments.

Also participating in weekend festivities were former pastors, the Rev. Robert Sullivan, Two Rivers, and the Rev. Beryl Knudsen, Des Moines, Iowa.

Nazareth Lutheran Church was founded October 4, 1893 by the Rev. A.S. Nielsen and two Danish immigrant families from Chicago. The present pastor, the Rev. Peter Thomsen, came October 21, 1979.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel