School: Greenwood High Alumni (’31, ’36, ’41 - 1981)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Jollivette, Kemmerud, Steiger, Sturtz, Wallin, Wuethrich, Behrens, Schmidt, Neuenfeldt, Olson, Sischo, Engel, Strommen, Putzel, Hoeser, Hare, Herr, Jordan, Arch, Killion, Rodgers, Kuester, Ystad, Landini, Axelson, Johnson, Standiford, Turnquist, Weber, Dux, Noeldner, Susa, Driscoll, Buchsteiner, Eisenhart, Behrens, Cunningham, Syth, Berrett, Krokson, Flikke, Christie, Schullo, Zarling, Schwarze, Kane, Stowe, Koschak, Meinhardt, Sebastian, Friske, Buettner, Francis, Wells, Toburen, Humke, Heck, Hohl, Armstrong, Burkhalter, Braun, Bredesen, Bundick, Flynn, Butcher, Kaveckas, Einfeldt, Dillenbeck, Fischer, Frederickson, Brumbaugh, Gemmeke, Davey, Hawley, Thompkins, Horn, Klinke, Melius, Ziehl, Perman, Speich, Smaldone, Nowosel, Swieso, Denk, Wells, Wendt, Worden

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 6/04/1981

Greenwood High Alumni (’31, ’36, ’41 - 1981)

The 41st annual Greenwood High School reunion banquet was held on Saturday, May 23, in the east gymnasium with 208 members attending.

The Rev. Norbert Jollivette, class of 1941, Jewell, Iowa, gave the invocation. The welcome from the Greenwood School was given by John Kemmerud, principal of the high school.

The outstanding alumni award for 1981 was presented to E.J. Steiger, class of 1947, Neillsville. Steiger is the chief executive officer of the Production Credit Association. The award was presented by Howie Sturtz II, leader of the Howie Sturtz Orchestra; Steiger is a member of the orchestra.

Musical entertainment of singing with banjo accompaniment was provided by Knut Wallin, Greenwood.

The honored guests of the evening were the class of 1931, celebrating 50 years since graduation. They were introduced by Allen Wuethrich, class of 1932; Members present were Lucille (Behrens) Schmidt, Swing; Charles Neuenfeldt, Spencer; Arleigh Olson, Blanchardville; Nina (Sischo) Engel, Spencer; Howard Strommen, Green Bay; Frieda (Putzel) Hoeser, Loyal; Merril (Benny) Hare, Francis Herr, Sr., Rose (Jordan) Arch, Irene (Killion) Rodgers, George Kuester and Eleanor (Olson) Ystad.

Committee members on arrangements for 1982 are Louis Landini, Helen Axelson, Harry Johnson, Roger Standiford and Carol Turnquist.

Class of ‘36

The Greenwood High School class of 1936 held their reunion on May 24 at the Legion Hall. Clarence Meinhardt was the emcee. After a prayer, brief program and class song, the banquet was served.

The flower arrangement was mad by Mildred Eisenhart, showing the class motto and with red and white colors of the class. Pictures were taken.

The reunion committee included Anita Heck, Adella Friske and Ruth Toburen.

Those attending were Mr./Mrs. Roy Olson, Loyal; Mr./Mrs. Bernard Weber, Bowling Green, Ky; Mr./Mrs. Erwin Dux (Martha Noeldner), Loyal; Robert Susa, Greenwood: Mr./Mrs. John Driscoll (Milda Buchsteiner), Milwaukee; Mr./Mrs. Churchill Eisenhart (Mildred Behrens) Kensington, Md.; Mr./Mrs. Bernard Cunningham, (Alberta Syth), Wausau; Mr./Mrs. Roland Berrett (Ethel Krokson), Rhinelander; Mr./Mrs. Arnold Flikke, and Mrs. May (Christie) Schullo, all of Minneapolis.

Joining them were Mr./Mrs. Roy Zarling (Dorothy Schwarze), Thiensville; Mr./Mrs. Clifford Kane (Clara Stowe), Oxfordville; Ludwig Koschak, Orange Park, Fa.; Clarence Meinhardt, Greenwood; Mr./Mrs. Milton Sebastian (Bernice Friske), Wauwatosa; Mrs. Clara Jean Buettner (Francis), Hackensack, Mn.; Mr./Mrs. Norbert Friske (Adella Wells), Mr./Mrs. Delmar Toburen (Ruth Humke) and Mrs. Harvey Heck (Anita Hohl) all of Greenwood; Mrs. Margaret Armstrong (Burkhalter), Abbotsford; and a guest from Colby. Seven members of the class are deceased.

Class of ‘41

Twenty-six members of the Class of 1941 gathered at the Legion Hall in Greenwood on Saturday afternoon, May 23, for their first reunion in 40 years. There were 37 members in the class; three are deceased. The afternoon was spent visiting, reminiscing and taking pictures.

Attending were Catherine Braun, Eau Claire; Shirley (Braun) Humke, Greenwood; Bonnie (Bredeson) Bundick, Noblesville, In.; Lorraine (Bucksteiner) Flynn, Neillsville; Jane (Butcher) Kaveckas, Chicago; Margaret (Einfeldt) Dillenbeck, Greenwood; Robert Fischer, Nekoosa; Bernice (Frederickson) Brumbaugh, Marshfield; Geraldine (Gemmeke) Davey, Rapid City, Mi.; Norbert Jolivette, Jewell, Ia.; Lois Mae (Hawley) Tompkins, Osseo; and Donald Horn, Greenwood.

Joining them were Frank Klinke, Greenwood; Beatrice (Melius) Ziehl, Brookfield; Katherine (Perman) Speich, Greenwood; Lois (Smaldone) Nowosel, Glenview, Il.; Mary Smaldone, Maywood, Il.; Elmer Speich, Rosco, Il.; Beatrice (Steiger) Syth, Eau Claire; Vernard Swieso, Littleton, Co.; Dale Syth, Eau Claire; Margaret (Thorson) Denk, Butler; Donald Wells, Greenwood; Alice (Wendt) Olson, Greenwood; and Kenneth Worden , Southport, N.C.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel