School: Greenwood High School (Graduation - 1981)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Krultz, Denk, Kato, Bayuk, Bravener, Briski, Curtis, Enli, Kesler, Knudsen, Lesar, Metzke, Regalia, Scheuerman, Schneebeli, Steffen, Susa, Brandt, Briski, Brookhart, Djubenski, Ehlers, Elmer, Frame, Gregorich, Hahto, Hillert, Hinker, Hinkle, Hribar, Jaenke, Jolivette, Kato, Kitzhaber, Kohlnhofer, Kirn, Landini, Lenz, Lindner, Mayenschein, Oldham, Olson, Opelt, Ormond, Ortner, Petkovsek, Plautz, Priebe, Rogstad, Rondorf, Schlough, Smith, Sowieja, Stewart, Susa, Tennant, Volovsek, Barber, Mertens, Kammerud, Dallman

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 5/14/1981

Greenwood High School (Graduation - 1981)

Jana Krultz, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Selvin Krultz, rural Greenwood, has been named the valedictorian of the 1981 graduating class of the Greenwood Community High School. She has been a member and officer of the national Honor Society and Future Business leaders of America the Pep Club and basketball and track teams. She spent hours with a tutoring program and the Central Wisconsin Math League and had been a cheerleader and baseball manager. Following graduation, she plans to major in business at UW-Marshfield.

Marla Denk, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Denk, Greenwood is the salutatorian. She has been especially active in sports earning the Don Plautz award. For three of her four years in volleyball she was named the most valuable player and was named most improved player in her three years in basketball. She served one year as vice president of the J-Club of which she was a member for four years. During her three years serving on the student council, she was vice president one year. While a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes she served as president and had also served as president of the freshman class. In her sophomore year, she became a member of the National Honor Society and is currently serving as president. She also spent a year in each of cheerleading, track, swing choir and junior editor of the year book. Two years were spent in softball, Pep Club, Spanish Club and forensics. During her junior year she was named to Badger State and was also the exchange student to Mexico. This year she is hosting the present exchange student. Her plans are to attend District I Technical Institute in Eau Claire to study accounting and data processing.


The west gymnasium of the Greenwood Community High School will be the setting for the commencement program at 1:30 p.m., Sunday, May 17, with the senior band playing the processional and recessional and also a selection during the program.

Superintendent John Barber is giving the welcome with Father Michael Mertens giving the invocation and benediction. Dean Lesar, class president, is providing ja summary of Memories.

Junko Kato will tell of her year as a foreign exchange student.

Marla Denk, salutatorian, will speak on class motto, “Remember Yesterday and Dream of Tomorrow but Live for Today.” Jana Krultz, valedictorian, chose “Looking for Space” for her address.

Special awards will be given by Principal John Kammerud. The diplomas will be presented by Allen Dallman, representing the board of education.

The honor students of 1981 are Rose Bayuk, Brenda Bravener, Steven Briski, Lisa Curtis, Jill Denk, Michele Enli, Lori Kesler, Paul Knudsen, Jana Krultz, Dean Lesar, Karen Metzke, Laurie Regalia, Cynthia Scheuerman, Kevin Schneebeli, Susan Steffen and James Susa.

Other members of the class are Brenda Brandt, Ronald Briski, Zelda Brookhart, Brenda Djubenski, Rober Ehlers, Darla Elmer, Deanna Frame, Leianna Gregorich, Elizabet Hahto, Rose Hillert, Roxanne Hinker, Lance Hinkle, Thomas Hribar, Janet Jaenke, Linda Jolivette, Janko Kato, Michael Kitzhaber, Ritchie Kolnhofer, James Kirn, Dennis Kirn, Dion Landini, Kay Lenz, Alan Lindner, Roseann Lindner, Jeri Mayenschein, Collen Oldham, Lana Olson, Julie Opelt, Dawn Ormond, Joseph Ortner, Mary A. Petkovsek, Sharon Plautz, Jeanie Priebe, Roxanne Rogstad, Denise Rondorf, Cynthia Scheuerman, Susan Schlough, Richard Smith, John Sowieja, Andrew Stewart, Jane Susa, Joseph Susa, Penny Susa, Merle Tennant, Debra Volovsek, Gina Volovsek and Sharon Volovsek.

Honor students will be wearing gold cords. The class colors are blue and white with a blue tipped white Rose as class flower.

Class officers are Dean Lesar, president; Brenda Brandt, vice president; Roxie Rogstad, secretary; Dion Landini, treasurer; and Michele Enli, student council representative.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel