School: Clark County (new school staff 1983)

Contact: Kathleen E. Englebretson


Surnames: Trudell, Treutel, Leaf, Korthauer, Knautz, Morwedt, Otto, Shanahan, Smith, Warren, Lampsa, Sisco, Meurett, Johnson, Glaze, Russel, Cauley, Strand, Slipek, Lawton, LeCaptain, DiUlio, Heimstead, Pascoe, Szews, Merlak, Borneke, Van Houten, Campbell, Halfmann, Schmitt

----Source: Marshfield News-Herald (13 August 1983)

ABBOTSFORD New teachers in the school system will be Susan Trudell, language arts and Sharon Treutel, business education.

GRANTON New teachers are James Shanahan, band director, and Mary Smith, part-time music teacher.

GREENWOOD Valli Davis Warren, elementary school instructor for the emotionally disturbed, is the only new faculty member.

LOYAL Two new members of the Loyal Elementary School Faculty haven't been announced yet but starting his first school year with the Loyal district will be Administrator Lawrence Lampsa. Lampsa began his duties earlier this month. He came to Loyal from Elcho where he was administrator for five years.

NEILLSVILLE New teachers include Dennis Sisco, special education; Steve Meurett, middle and high school art; Dewey Johnson, Junior high English; Carol Glaze, elementary music; and Laura Russel, special services.

OWEN-WITHEE Six new teachers will greet students in the Owen-Withee School District when they report for the first day of school on August 24.

New teachers are Jean Cauley, early childhood; Joan Strand, speech/language clinician; Kathleen Slipek, elementary school vocal music; Mary Lawton, high school Spanish, Norbet LeCaptain, high school agriculture. An opening for a junior high mathematics teacher is expected to be filled by next week.

SPENCER James DiUlio, school superintendent said that no major new programs have been planned, but there will be some new teachers.

Nita Heimstead is a new Chapter 1 teacher; Cindy Pascoe will teach children with learning disabilities, and Denise Szews will teach emotionally disturbed students. The district still has to hire a physics teacher, due to a resignation accepted Monday.

THORP Leroy Merlak, school superintendent said the enrollment at the high school is down. Merlak said that during the past five years, the school enrollment has steadily declined. Primary reasons for the decline, he added, were the overall decline in family size, as well as the move of Thorp Finance Corp from the school district. He also said a number of Mennonite families have moved into the district, and established their own schools.

There will be six new teachers this year: Eva Borneke and Jean Van Houten, elementary School special education; Cynthia Campbell, Chapter 1, Kevin Halfmann, high school guidance; and Janet Schmitt, high school math and science, Vacancies for a fourth-grade teacher and high school vocal music are expected to be filled by the start of the school year, Merlak said.

(Other non-biographical details were eliminated)



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel