Bio: Hauser, Bryan – Eagle Scout (Mar 1973)

Transcriber: Stan

Surnames: Hauser, Claussen, Streiter, Firnstahl, Deming, Schultz, Borden, Dietrich, Zygowicz

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 29 Mar 1973

Bryan Hauser, 16-year-old son of Mr. and Mrs. James Hauser, Route 1, Unity, was presented the Eagle Award Sunday during a court of honor and banquet held at the Colby City Hall.

In accepting the honor, the highest in the Boy Scout Organization, Hauser told the approximately 80 persons attending the banquet, that all Boy Scouts should try to reach this goal. He urged all scouts to work just a little harder.

Dignitaries attending the event included Robert Clausen Sr., a top executive in the Boy Scout Organization; Jim Streiter, Commander of the Colby Post 2227 of the Veterans of Foreign Wars, Emmanuel Firnstahl, institution representative; Don Deming, Abbotsford, district commissioner; Herman Schultz, Marshfield, assistant commissioner; Bruce Borden, Merrill, district executive, and the Rev. Louis Dietrich of St. Mary’s Catholic Church, who gave the benediction.

Also at the event, nine new boy scouts were welcomed into the troop, and patches were given the scouts who attended the polar campout held southwest of Colby.

Jerry Zygowicz, scout master of Troup 683, termed Hauser as one of the most outstanding scouts he has ever worked with. He noted that it has been over 15 years since a Colby scout has earned the top award.

Hauser, a junior at Colby High School, has earned 22 merit badges and been required to do much outside work to earn the award.

At school, he is an honor student, and after each school….(the rest of my copy was cut off)



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel