School: Granton Class of ’32 to ‘40 (Reunite - 1980)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Bender, Johnknecht, Nickel, Riedel, Spry, Tucker, Sternitzky, Wilcox, Knoop, Wagner, Moh, Smith, Montgomery, Foemmel, Lee, Bartz, Drescher, Root, Lynch, Davis, Worchel, Zielke, Elmhorst, Rowe, Lindow, Hasz, Mallory, Nonhof, Moore, Pietenpol, Downer, Beeckler, Hillert, Patterson, Reichert, Reisner, Smith, Williams, Javet, Worchel, Canfield, Kurth, Hentges, Schlinsog, Montgomery, Retzlaff, Behnke, Dankemyer, Howard, Garbisch, Wenck, Grassman, Cleveland, Jahr, Matas, Prange, Beilke, Braatz, Chubb, Hales, Dudei, Hammond, Bergeman, Haines, Liebzeit, Todd, Hillert, Prust, Ott, Pannier, Pike, Peterson, Urbans

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 8/14/1980

Granton Class of ’32 to ’40 (Reunite – 2 August 1980)

Beginning with a tour of their school, the Granton High School Classes of 1932-1940 gathered on Saturday, August 2, to enjoy an evening of reminiscing at the Granton Sportsmen’s Club. Nearly 80 former students attended.

A map of the U.S. was made by Leolene Cleveland and was tacked with the name and year graduated of those attending, showing where each is living now.

The Rev. Pannier led in prayer, Carl Worchel gave a welcome and Robert Howard was emcee. A sing-along was held, and a gift was given to James Todd, first reservation, a special humorous plaque to Evelyn Lichte for not receiving a speeding ticket this year. Two teachers, Myrtle Pike Peterson and Ray Urbans, were remembered with gifts. Door prizes were won by Dora Hillert, Mrs. Joe Davis, Earl Chubb, Elsie Bender Johnknecht, Elmer Riedel, Armin Moh, Allen Montgomery, Mrs. Franklin Jahr, Lucien Moh, Ray Foemmel and Doris Spry Foemmel.

The organization committee consisted of Carl Worchel, Eldred Reichert, Robert Howard, John (Butch) Bergeman, Evelyn (Hales) Dudei and Leolene (Grassman) Cleveland.

For the Class of 1932, it was the first time a reunion had ever been held. Those attending were Ray and (Elsie Bender) Johnknecht, Waupaca; Elmer and (Elinore Nickel) Reidel, Wis. Rapids; Nylva (Spry) Tucker, Palmetto, Fla.; and Grant and Ruth (Sternitzky) Wilcox, Cottage Grove.

The Class of 1934 had Irene (Bartz) Drescher, Granton; and Zola (Root) Lynch, Kimberly.

The Class of 1935 had Mr./Mrs. Joe Davis, Stevens Point; Mr/Mrs. Allen Montgomery, Granton; Mr./Mrs. Carl Worchel, Spencer; Mr./Mrs. Erwin Zielke, Chippewa Falls.

The Class of 1936 attending were Beryl and Litta (Elmhorst) Rowe, Owen; Otto and Arlene (Lindow) Hasz and Mr/Mrs. Lucien Moh, Granton; Mr,/Mrs. Marvin Mallory, Egan, Ill.; Allen and Evelyn (Nonhof) Moore, Milwaukee; and Elaine Pietenpol) Downer, Neillsville.

The Class of 1937 had Bill Beeckler and Martin and Dora Hillert, Granton; Everett Patterson, New Berlin; Eldred Reichert, Wis. Dells; Edward and Dorothy Reisner, West Allis; Mr./Mrs. Harold Smith, Glen Rock, N.J.; Irv, and Lucille (Williams) Javet, Mt. Prospect, Ill.; and Mr./Mrs. Harold Worchel, La Crosse.

The Class of 1938 had Mr./Mrs. Ray (Pat) Canfield, Clam Lake; Adrian and Vera (Kurth) Hentges, Plainfield; and Mr./Mrs. Arthur Schlinsog, Allen and Lydia (Schlinsog) Montgomery, Raymond and Doris (Spry) Foemmel, all of Granton.

The Class of 1939 had Margaret (Beeckler) Retzlaff, Verona; Mr./Mrs. Harold Behnke, West Allis; Robert and Nona (Dankemyer) Howard, Marshfield; Arthur and Evelyn (Elmhorst) Lichte, Boulder, Co.; Marvin and Lorraine (Garbisch) Wenck, Burlington; Leolene (Grassman) Cleveland, Wis. Rapids; Mr./Mrs. Franklin Jahr, Beloit; Elsie (Matas) Prange, Libertyville, Ill.

The Class of 1940 attending were Norman and Dorothy (Beilke) Braatz, Mr./Mrs. Earl Chubb, Evelyn (Hales) Dudei and John Hammond, of Granton; Mr./Mrs. John Bergeman, Neillsville; Arwin and Anna (Haines) Liebzeit, Greenwood; Mr./Mrs. James Todd and Robert Hillert, of Rockford, Ill.; Raymond and Viola (Prust) Ott, Kaukauna; and the Rev./Mrs. Clarence Pannier, Sac City, Ia.

Teachers attending were Myrtle (Pike) Peterson, Poynette, and Ray Urbans, West Chester, Ill.

The next reunion will be in 1982.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel