School: Granton H.S. Class of 1930 (50 Years - 1980)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Hammond, Garbisch, Witte, Schroeder, Wolkenhauer, Jakobi, Schmitt, Happe, Swenson, Haines, Ott, Bartz, Klix, Johnson, Quicker, Scharf, Potts, Schlinsog, Wierenzinski, Tucker, Mortimer, Sisson, Daniels, Elmhorst, Crandall, Coyle, Retta, Bender Johanknecht, Trimberger, Ferguson, Gall, Lee, Vandeberg, Altenburg, Schafer, Gardner, Wright, McConnell

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 7/24/1980

Granton H.S. Class of 1930 (50 Years – 13 July 1980)

The graduating Class of 1930 from the Granton High School met and reminisced for their golden anniversary at the Sportsmen’s Club in Granton, Sunday, July 13.

At 4 o’clock, a tour was made of the school. Many changes were noted to have taken place in the last fifty years. At 6:00 a catered meal was served to the 31 attending.

Nellie Quicker and Lenore Klix used the class flower, the American Beauty Rose, and the class colors, blue and silver, in the table decorations.

Seventeen graduates of the class of 28 members were present. There was a moment of silence for the two members, Dorothy (Daniels) Elmhorst and Olive (Wright) McConnell, who are deceased.

Francis Haines, Marshfield, acted as master of ceremonies. The table prayer was given by the Rev. A. Wolkenhauer. Christine Elmhorst read letters from those unable to attend. Each classmate told a little about his or her life since graduation. The school song, “Boosting The Old High School,” was sung by Christine Elmhorst, Emma Garbisch, Florence Wolkenhauer and Helen Sisson. The awarding of prizes added to the festivities.

Those from away attending were Ruth (Hammond) Garbisch, Williamsburg, Va.; Mr./Mrs. Alex Witte and Mr./Mrs. Marion (Gertrude Garbisch) Schroeder, of Racine; the Rev./Mrs. A. (Florence Garbisch) Wolkenhauer, Lyndon Station; Mr./Mrs. Vincent (Anita Jakobi) Schmitt, Belgium; Mrs. Verna (Happe) Swenson and Mr./Mrs. Francis Haines, Marshfield; Hazel Ott, Chili; Lenore (Bartz) Klix and Mr./Mrs. H.H. (Nellie Johnson) Quicker, Neillsville; and Mr./Mrs. LaRue (Nina Scharf) Potts, Greenwood.

Those attending from the Granton area were Ewald Schlinsog, Bernice (Wierenzinski) Tucker, Helen (Mortimer) Sisson, Mr./Mrs. Roland Jakobi, Mr./Mrs. Frederick (Christine Daniels) Elmhorst, Mr./Mrs. Douglas Crandall, Mr./Mrs. Gilbert Coyle and Mr./Mrs. Edward (Emma Retta) Garbisch.

Unable to attend were classmates Marie (Bender) Johanknecht, Waupaca; Victor Trimberger, Albuquerque, N.M.; Forest Bender and Glen Ferguson, both of Yakima, Wa.; Clyde Gall, Denver, Co.; Guyla (Lee) Vandeberg, Kingsbury, Ca.; Florence (Altenburg) Vandeberg and Gerald Schafer, both of Neillsville; and Russell Gardner, Granton.

Serving on the committee were Christine Elmhorst, Nellie Quicker, Lenore Klix, Francis Haines, Emma Garbisch and Nina Potts.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel