School: NHS Class of 1980 (High Honors - 1980)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Makie, Sandquist, Swenson, Genteman, Hemp, Johnson, Lezotte, Montgomery, Quast, Solberg, VandeBerg, Wegner, Wilcox

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 4/10/1980

NHS Class of 1980 (High Honors - 1980)

Two valedictorians and a salutatorian were recently announced by the Neillsville High School for the class of 1980: Kim Makie, daughter of Mr and Mrs. Gerald Makie, and Diane Sandquist, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Sandquist, share the top ranking. Each had a 4.0 GPA. Earning the salutatorian ranks is Kay Swenson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Cal Swenson, who had a GPA of 3.86.

Makie was active in the Letterman, Pep, and German Clubs; student council and National Honor Society; junior class plat; annual staff and school paper; numerous music contests, High Quiz Bowl; was chosen for Badgers Girls State, the DAR award and as a Melvin Laird Youth Leader; and was active in five varsity sports.

Sandquist served on the student council, annual and school paper; was a member of the German and Pep Clubs and FBLA; on the National Honor Society and High Quiz Bowl team; senior class play; vocal music; and was a cheerleader and active in two varsity sports.

Swenson was active in and an officer in the student council; National Honor Society; FBLA; pep club, officer and prom coordinator; forensic efforts; annual staff; and various musical activities.

Named in the top ten percent of the class of 1980 at Neillsville High School were, Gary Genteman, Merlin Hemp, Kathy Johnson, Carol Lezotte, Karen Montgomery, JaNel Quast, Kim Solberg, Renee VandeBerg, Scott Wegner and Michelle Wilcox.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel