School: Greenwood FFA (Top Awards - 1980)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Syth, Gosar, Horn, Lindner, Susa, Suda, Brey, Horvat, Thomas, Krultz, Gregorich, Briski, La Marr, Timmler, Sloniker, Ossman, Kesler, Clouse, Kirn, Berres, Musich, Smrecek, Opelt, Vetterkind, Kirn, Toburen, Gregorich, Ortner, Nigon, Debevec, Kaltinger, Horvat, Baker, Lato

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 5/01/1980

Greenwood FFA (Top Awards - 1980)

Kent Syth opened the evening program at the annual banquet for the Greenwood High School Chapter of the Future Farmers of America, last Thursday evening. Among the trophies and awards, two young women took the plaques for being the Star Greenhand and Star Chapter Farmer Winners were Margaret Gosar and Amy Horn.

Receiving trophies for proficiency were Dale Lindner, dairying; Jim Susa, swine management; Eliot Suda, beef management; and Mark Brey, the livestock trophy for the second consecutive year. Steve Horvat was presented with the DeKalb Award. The chapter named James Susa, who farms 460 acres, as the outstanding farmer this year. Kent Syth was named for the Chapter State Farmer Degree.

The fund-raising sales awards were earned by Dan Susa, the top fruit salesman; and Eliot Suda, again the top corn salesman.

Everett Thomas, president of the FFA Alumni; encouraged the young people to continue in some phase of agriculture after graduating from high school. He also invited all seniors to join the alumni as soon as they were out of school.

Those earning Greenhand awards were Scott Krultz, LaVerne Gregorich, Angie Suda, Doug Suda, Dan Susa, Ron Briski, Leigh LaMarr, Tammy Timmler, Larry Sloniker, Jeff Ossman, Ray Kesler, John Clouse, Jim Kirn, Ed Berres, Allen Horn, Tony Musich, Ralph Smrecek, Margaret Gosar and Pat Opelt.

Those receiving Chapter Farmers Degrees were Dan Vetterkind, Dennis Kirn, Mark Toburen, LaVerne Gregorich, Chick Ortner, Ray Nigon, Amy Horn, Mike Nigon, John Susa, Laura Debevec and Susan Kaltinger.

Officer pins were presented to Kent Syth, president; Eliot Suda, vice president; Steve Horvat, secretary; Ray Nigon, treasurer; Chris Baker, reporter; and Dale Lindner, Sentinel.

James Lato, adviser and Vo-ag instructor, narrated slides as a summary of various activities throughout the year.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel