School: NHS-Classes of ’51 – ‘59 (Honored - 1979)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Wilcox, Opelt, Schmidt, Kessler Schneeberger, and a large list of graduate student names

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 9/13/1979

NHS -Classes of ’51 – ’59 (Honored - 1979)

Homecoming activities at NHS, set for Sept. 28 when the Warriors will take on the Stanley-Boyd Orioles, will have a special meaning for those who graduated from NHS between 1951-59, according to present students at the school.

The 1979 students opted to dedicate the game to the classes of 1951 to 1959 and will allow all graduates of those years’ free admission to the 8:00 p.m. game.

Special entertainment will also be supplied by Michelle Wilcox, Roberta Opelt, Angie Schmidt and Jane Kessler, as barbershop singers offering selections from the 1950’s. Also entertaining will be the high school band, under the direction of Randy Schneeberger.

The 1979 students supplied a list of various class leaders from the 1950’s. They include:

1951 - Jack Burchard & Carole (last name not given), homecoming royalty; Donald Asplin, Donald Knudsen, Joanne Schultz & Alice Buchholz, Class officers; Irvie Metcalf, Jerry R. Smith, John Flitter, Dale Botnen, Jack Burchard, Donald Asplin and Don Schutte, senior football players.

1952 – Bob Kunze and Ardes Wang, royalty; Jim Rahn, Merlin Payne, Charlotte Ayers & Marilyn Haas, officers; Merlin Payne, George Albrecht, Lawrence Ehlers, Richard Harrington, Morris Johnson, Robert Kunze (Capt.), Dale Meihack, George Nielsen, William Oelke, Dennis Paulson, Walter Wagner, Walter Wetzel & Gayle Schoengarth, team members.

1953 – Hans Harder & Donna Peterson, Royalty; Glen Zschernitz, Ervin Knoop, Barbara Borde & Betty Zank, officers; Donald Blum, Hans Harder, Ervin Knoop, Arnold Huth, Jr., Kurt Fritz Hediger & Norman Thompson, team members.

1954 – Denny Maus and Gail Ludovic, royalty; Jim Wavrunek, Walter Vaitkevicius, Audrey DeMert & JoAnn Webster, officers; Roy Elmhorst, Denny Maus, Peter Sydorowicz, Allen Knudsen, Dick Kapfer, Jack Tibbett, Forie Larson, Jim Wavrunek, Jim Kurasz, Jack Albrecht & Larry Carlson, team members.

1955 – Merlin Gerber & LaVonne Mills, royalty; Jerry Ehlers, Ronnie Davis, Shirley Keller, officers; Marvin Aumann, Bill Cook, Ronald Davis, Bob Gutenberger, John Hanson, Alan Harder, John Linster, Bill Marty, Charles Matousek, John Nozar and Raymond Wetzel, team members.

1956 – Ed Schwellenbach & Janice Urlaub, royalty; DeWayne Howard, LaVonne Mills, Maynard Prock & Charlotte Ormond, officers; Harry Ayers, kenneth Burr, Lewis Hoffman, Fred Gutenberger, Maynard Prock, Howard Krause, Doug Larson & Ed Schwellenbach, team members.

1957 – Dean Zickert & Beverly Seelow, royalty; Betsy Norman, Judy Meyer and Delmane Schwellenbach, officers; Tom Barr, Paul Manz, William Seelow, Donald Shaw, Jon Swenson & Dean Zickert, team members.

1958 -Charles Swann & Sherry Briggs, royalty; Tom Overman, Ted Ormond, Pat Thompkins & Jana Marden, officers; Tom Overman, Ted Ormond, Charlie swan, Phil Thompson & Skip Lee, team members.

1959 – Don Pagenkopf & Mary (no last name given), royalty; Bill Perrine, Craig Blum, Lois Steinhilber & Dennis Gall, officers; William Armitage, Alan Kotchy, Thomas Dorski, Jr., Forrest Neilsen, Harvey Mohr, Donald Pagenkopf & John Schwellenbach, team members.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel