School: Thorp Elementary – Safety Patrol Honored (1973)


Surnames: Boie, Deutschlander, Shewczyk, Poppe, Kluesner, Frenette, Skwierczynski, LaGasse, Witler, Belanger, Postler, Boie, Fleming, McCue, Becker, Haas, Jaks

----Source: THORP COURIER (Thorp, Clark County, Wis.) 07 Jun 1973

After a lapse of several years, a Public School Safety Patrol was organized in September, when school began under the guidance of Chief of Police Rich Boie, Elementary School Principal Irma Deutschlander, and 7th and 8th grade faculty member David Shewczyk. A schedule was set up with fourteen Junior High volunteers. Two students teamed together and guarded corners deemed dangerous.

The three member committee was pleased with the fourteen volunteers. Cold weather and the frequent rain didn’t stop them from protecting pedestrians

In special recognition the patrol was treated to a meal at the Thorpedo and given several tickets for free rides during June Dairy Days.

Plans are underway for the fall session of school to set up another group of volunteers with Patrol week at Wisconsin Dells.

The fourteen volunteers on this year’s volunteer team were: Chris Poppe, Jody Kluesner, Jeff Frenette, Arlen Skwierczynski, Mark LeGasse, James Witler, Bonnie Belanger, Diane Postler, Rich Boie, Julie Fleming, Kim McCue, Juanita Becker, Kris Haas, Betty Jaks.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel