News: Neillsville - Grey Ladies Capped Got Pins (1978)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Crothers, Mallory, Syth, Awe, Keuer, Sprague, Bergemann, Sadowska, Gress, Johnson, Georgas, Karnitz, Schoengarth, Wasserburger, Kalsow, Nehls, Jenkins, Hoffman, Kuenkel, Church, Gallagher, Christman, Gungor, Hemp, Crockett, Danielson, Hannen, Junchen, Steinhilber, Bletsoe

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 11/16/1978

Grey Ladies Capped and Got Pins (- 1978)

Last Tuesday night, the Neillsville Memorial hospital dining room was the setting for a capping ceremony of four new Red. Cross Volunteer Gray Ladies. Selected were Verna Mallory, Ruby Syth, Betty Awe and Adeline Keuer.

Opening remarks were made by Elizabeth Crothers, with program following. Patricia Sprague gave the Gray Ladies Prayer. Remarks were made by John Bergemann, hospital and home administrator, and Sally Sadowska, recreational therapist. She also presented the name pins to the new Gray Ladies. Remarks were also given by Cara Jean Gress, Clark County Red Cross Chairperson, who presented white buttons and course cards to the new volunteers.

Sadowska capped the new volunteers. Other awards were passed out by Elizabeth Crothers and Ellen Johnson, and included:

1961 – 16-year one year tab, Edna Georgas, Virginia Karnitz and Anne Schoengarth. 1964 – 4-year tab, Pearl Wasserburger, Lucille Kalsow and Elizabeth Crothers. 1968 – 10-year pin, Pat Sprague and Ida Nehls. 1969 – 5-year pin, 4-year tab, Catherine Jenkins.

1970 – 5-year pin, 3-year tab, Mamie Hoffman, Ellen Johnson and Marie Kuenkel. 1972 – 5-year pin, one-year tab, Leah Church and Mabel Gallagher. 1973 – 5-year pin, Senta Christman, Lilly Gungor, Ella Hemp and Anna Marie Crockett.

1974 – 4-year tab, Otillie Danielson and Margaret Hannen. 1975 – 3-year tab, Elmira Junchen. 1977 – one year tab, Lucy Steinhilber, Ann Bletsoe and Lillian Kalsow.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel