School: Colby H.S. Class of 1942 (30 Year Class Reunion – 1972)


Surnames: Fischer, Waldhart, Firnstahl, Rannow, Mellenthin, Comeaux, Steiber, Yost, Beyerl, Frome, Scheel, Hardrath, Jacobs, Dommer, Duvall, Hildebrand, Frane, Fricke, Gries, Rossele, Kobs, Koncel, Mossing, Augustine, Prange, Streich, Schmidt, Schulz, Stall, Will, Witt

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 17 Aug 1972

The Colby High School graduating class of 1942 held its 30 year reunion dinner at the Colby Hotel on Saturday, August 12, 1972. Cocktails preceding the dinner and social time following was enjoyed at the Town and Country.

Arrangements for the gathering were made by a committee of Arva Fischer, Marie Waldhart, Emanuel Firnstahl and Howard Rannow. Howard Rannow acted as master of ceremonies for the event and Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Mellenthin assisted at the social hour.

The class prophecy was read by Galen Comeaux. Prizes were awarded to Dave Steiber, first reservation; Marg Yost, most grandchildren; Dolores Beyerl, smallest waist; Elaine Frome, arrived in oldest car; Floyd Scheel, man with the most hair; Halbert Hardrath, traveled the longest distance; Marg Yost, last reservation.

A moment of silence was observed for three deceased members of the class. Letters were read by Arva Fischer from former classmates unable to attend. The group voted unanimously to hold a similar get-together in five years.

Attending the reunion were Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Waldhart (Marie Beyerl) Stetsonville; Mr. and Mrs. Martin Jacobs (Dolores Beyerl), Marshfield; Mr. and Mrs. Galen Arvin Dommer, Colby;

Mr. and Mrs. Don Fischer (Arva Duvall), Unity; Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Hildebrand (Mary Frane), Cottage Grove, Minn.; Mr. and Mrs. Orville Fricke, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Harold Yost (Marjorie Gries), Spencer; Mr. and Mrs. Halbert Hardrath, Atlanta;

Mr. and Mrs. Walter Rossele (Bernice Kobs), Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. William Koncel, Dorchester; Mr. and Mrs. Howard Mossing, Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Elroy Augustine (Hildegarde Prange), Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Howard Rannow, Colby;

Mr. and Mrs. Floyd Scheel, Madison; Mr. and Mrs. Rueben Streich (Dolores Schmidt), Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Calvin Schulz, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Lyle Stall, Oxfordville; Mr. and Mrs. David Steiber, Friendship; Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Will, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Milford Frome (Elaine Witt), Colby; and Mr. and Mrs. Emanuel Firnstahl, Colby.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel