School: Greenwood H.S. Alumni Reunion (38th - 1978)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Plautz, Decker, Olson, Wisniewski, Wagner, Landini, Schwarze, Rossman, Hembre, Saffke, Kuhlman, Hunt, Chadwick, Behrens, Hawley, Neuerman, Moberg, Cole, Johnson, Drew, Barnard, Meyers, Dillon, Turnquist, Axelson, Verhulst, Gotter, Ross, Hoehne, Berrett, Zimmerman, Jollivette, Frank, Christie, Dahlby, Shortess, Dyre, Humke, Timmler, Jordan, Ryona, Krokson, McConnell, Hubert, Rossow, Syth, Varney, Metke, Wuethrich, Schroeder, Robertson, Liebzeit, Neuenfeldt

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 6/01/1978

Greenwood High School Alumni Reunion (38th Annual – 27 May 1978)

The 38th annual Greenwood High School Alumni Reunion Banquet was held Saturday, May 27, at the Greenwood High School gym.

Gigi Plautz and Duane Decker furnished dinner music while other musical entertainment was given by the Clark County Choraliers, directed by Donna Olson, and accompanied by Plautz, and the Greenwood High School Swing Choir, directed by Gordon Wisniewski.

The welcome was given by Victor G. Wagner, president of the Greenwood School Board.

Louis Landini conducted the business meeting at which older graduates were recognized including, Anna Schwarze Rossman, Greenwood, Class of 1907; Julius Hembre, Montevideo, Mn., 1912; Josephine Saffke Kuhlman, Ranchero Cordova, Ca.; Myrtle Saffke, Clarmont, Fl., 1914; Hale Hunt, La Crosse, 1914; and Helen Chadwick Behrens, Greenwood, 1917.

Joining them were Marjorie Hawley Neuerman, Joliet, Ill, 1920; Ellery Moberg, Greenwood, 1921; Lois Cole Johnson, Greenwood, 1922; Gladys Drew Barnard, American Falls, Id., 1922; Donald Drew, Viroqua, 1923; Edna Hembre Meyers, Cameron, 1923; Susie Drew Dillon, Pelican Rapids, Mn., 1923; Helen Turnquist Axelson, Loyal, 1925; Harriet Verhulst Gotter, Loyal, 1923; Laird Ross, Cochrane, 1923; Art Turnquist, Greenwood, 1923; Julius Hoehne, Greenwood, 1925; Geneva Berrett, Greenwood, 1923; Everett Zimmerman, Janesville, 1927; and Stella Jollivette Frank, Greenwood 1927.

The 50th year anniversary class of 1928 recognized included Eugene Christie, Neillsville; Eleanor Dahlby, Greenwood; Dorothy Decker Shortess, Alamo, Tx., Nelda Hoehne Dyre, Moorehead, Mn., Rose Humke Timmler, Loyal; Josephine Jordan Ryona, Withee; Edith Krokson Drew, Viroqua; Edna McConnell Hubert, Milwaukee; Edward Rossow, Loyal; Durward Schwarze, Granton; John Syth, Greenwood; Irene Varney Metke, Ft. Atkinson; John D. Wuethrich, Greenwood; Grace Zimmerman Schroeder, Kenosha; and Beulah Robertson Jollivette, Greenwood.

The outstanding alumni award was presented to Helen Chadwick Behrens, Class of 1912, who recognized for her years of public service to her community. The award was presented by Harry Liebzeit.

The 1979 committee named includes Louis Landini, Carol Turnquist, Roger Liebzeit, Mavis Liebzeit and Albert Neuenfeldt.

After the banquet, the 50th anniversary class were entertained with a reunion party at the home of Mr. and Mrs. John D. Wuethrich. Fifteen of the 26 graduates of 1928 attended. Six of the members are deceased.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel