School: NHS Class of 1948 Holds Reunion (50-Year - 1998)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Bender, Dorow, Reiko, Burckhard, Sauder, Bush, Larson, Chapman, Greeler, Beilke, Hagie, Herbel, Meyer, Hubing, Babka, Jonkel, Jenni, Kapfer, Larsen, Schultz, Mashin, Wampole, Metcalf, Sennott, Lavene, Neperud, Neuhaus, Conrad, Sollberger, Swann, Stanley, Timerson, Van Gorden, Wallace, White, Schulze, Weiting, Frankos, Crothers, Davis, Sebesta, Dux, Thompson, Gaier, Hemp, Bohnsack, Kalsow, Gerhardt, Kroll, Buchholz, Marg, Palms, Erickson, Stone, Tibbett, Mrotek, Wagner, Diercks, Holt, Henchen, Volz, Hauge, Moss, Cole, Brauner, Sydorowicz

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 9/02/1998

NHS Class if 1948 Holds Class Reunion (50 Year – 1998)

The Neillsville High School Class of 1948 held their 50th Class Reunion at Fannie’s Supper Club on Aug. 22, 1998, with a social hour and family style dinner.

Serving as Master of Ceremonies was George Crothers who led the class in the Pledge of Allegiance. Following was the invocation given by Roland Jenni. Roland also donated red rose floral arrangements for the tables of which each class member could take one rose home.

The speaker was classmate Charles Jonkel, a research scientist, who gave a program on his life’s work with polar, black and grizzly bears.

Class members and spouses attending from out of town: Elaine Bender (Ralph Dorow) Marshfield; Al (Reiko) Burckhard, Fair Oaks, Ca.; Genevieve Burckhard Sauder, Green Valley, Az.; Wava Bush (Ken) Larson, Alma Center; Leo “Bud” Chapman, Burlington, Ia.; Betty Greeler (Harold) Beilke, Granton; Jack (Rosalie) Hagie, Prairie du Sac; Dolores Herbel (Ken) Meyer, Artice Hubing (Larry) Babka, of Black River Falls; Charles Jonkel, Missoula, Mn.; Roland (Janet) Jenni, Black River Falls; Wilbert (Josephine) Kapfer, So. Beloit, Il.; Betty Larson (Donald) Schultz, Greenwood; Iris Mashin (Stanley) Wampole, Lodi; Elaine Metcalf (Vincent) Sennott, Colgate; Donald (Laverne) Neperud, Amery; Mildred Neuhaus (John) Conrad, Alexandria, Mn.; Leonard Sollberger, Sun Prairie; Catherine Swann Stanley, Marshfield; Duane (Mavis) Timerson, Edina, Mn.; Bonnie Van Gorden Ross, Watersmeet, Mi.; Kenneth Earl Wallace, Elmhurst, Il.; Ruth White (Charles) Schutz, Marshfield; Dorothy Weiting Frankos, Las Vegas, Nv.

Class members and spouses attending from Neillsville: George (Betty) Crothers, Elaine (Robert Sebesta, Julie Dux Thompson, Harold (Alice) Gaier, Vivian Hemp Bohnsack, Gladys Kalsow (Calvin) Gerhardt, Eileen Kroll Buchholz, Donald (Jean Marg), Wilma Palms (Earl) Erickson, Dan (Elvira) Patey, Ruby Stone, Patricia Tibbett Mrotek.

Booklets made by Ruth White Schultz were given to class members at registration. A Memorial page was included honoring six deceased members: Eugene Wagner, Roland Diercks, Barbara Holt Henchen, Lorraine Wagner Volz, Phyllis Haug Moss and Edith Cole Brauner.

A basket of goodies was donated as a door prize by Mrs. Frank (Pat) Sydorowicz in honor of Frank who is in the veteran’s Home at King. It was won by Harold Gaier.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel