Bio: Zastrow, Noah – Scholar/Athlete Award (Mar 2021)


Surnames: Zastrow, Sparger, Dolan, De Bruin, Northey, Schrang, Skaaland

Source: Tribune/Record/Gleaner (Abbotsford, WI) 31 Mar 2021

University of Wisconsin-Stout’s Noah Zastrow has been named recipient of the 2021 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Max Sparger Men’s Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete Award and was selected as the WIAC Field Athlete of the Year.

Zastrow, a senior from Spencer, boasts a 3.96 grade point average and is majoring in mechanical engineering with a minor in material science. He secured a spot on the 2020 Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country Academic All-America Second Team, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America. Zastrow is a three-time member of the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team, as well as the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll. He has been recognized on UW-Stout’s Dean’s List and earned his institution’s Scholar-Athlete Award numerous semesters. Zastrow has been the recipient of many academic scholarships throughout his studies.

Zastrow was named the WIAC Field Performer of the Year this season and his best vault of 17-8 1/2 ranks fifth indoors in NCAA Division III history. He secured the conference title in the pole vault a year ago with a WIAC championship record height of 17-8 1/4. Zastrow is a three-time All-American in the pole vault, including fifth-place and seventh-place finishes at the 2018 and 2019 NCAA championships, respectively. He is a three-time All-Midwest Region selection. A two-year team captain, he owns the school record in the pole vault and was selected UW-Stout’s Most Valuable Field Performer in 2019 and 2020, after receiving the Rookie of the Year distinction in 2018. In 2020, Zastrow also collected the Most Improved Field Performer honor from his team.

Zastrow is a member of the Society of Automotive Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and Society of Manufacturing Engineers. He has been involved with the conference’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and UW-Stout’s Entrepreneurship Club. Zastrow has served as a tutor in the university physics lab and as an intern with Phillips-Medisize.

Also nominated for this year’s scholar-athlete award were: UW-Eau Claire’s Connor Dolan (Sr., Nekoosa/ Wisconsin Rapids Assumption); UW-La Crosse’s Troy De Bruin (Sr., Little Chute); UW-River Falls’ Tyler Northey (Jr., Esko, Minn.); UW-Stevens Point’s Jared Schrang (Sr., Oconomowoc); and UW-Whitewater’s Lucas Skaaland (Sr., Westby).

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Max Sparger, who served as commissioner of the Wisconsin State University Conference for 22 years from 1971-93. He oversaw the transition of the conference from NAIA to full NCAA membership. Sparger arrived at UW-Stout in 1959 and served the institution in a variety of capacities, including an assistant football and basketball coach, head wrestling coach and head football coach.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average. In addition, he must be in his last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years. The award is based on academic achievements, athletics accomplishments and involvement in other campus activities, organizations and community service projects.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel