School: Abbotsford H.S. Class of 1961 (10 Yr. Reunion – 1971)


Surnames: Klemetson, Helm, Krug, Bruss, Umlauft, Danielson, Huss, Zender, Kramer, Scidmore, Kieser, Gehring, Weideman, Nowacki, Brunkhorst, Wilhelmi, Baxter, Mueller, Williams, Melvin, Umlauft, Laabs, Goff, Empey, Hayden, Matheius, Bub, Smith, Wiese, Schemenauer, Fischer, Hodd, Johnson, Nikolay, Lahnertz, Herrmann, Strhbehn, Anderson

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 15 Jul 1971

The Abbotsford High School graduating class of 1961 held it 10-year reunion Saturday. This was their first reunion since graduation.

A cocktail hour was held at 7 and supper at 8 at House of Dav-Ed, Abbotsford. A reception followed at the Abbotsford City Hall, with music furnished by LaVerne Klemetson and son of Curtiss.

Honor guests of the evening ware Mr. and Mrs. Walter Helm, Chili. Mrs. Helm was the Home Economics teacher and the class advisor for three years.

Those in charge of the 10-year reunion were Mrs. David Krug, chairman; Mrs. Louis Bruss, Mrs. Duane Umlauft and Steve Danielson, the master of ceremonies.

A moment of silence was taken for two deceased members of the class, Roy Huss and Gene Zender.

The class history was read by Mrs. Louis Bruss.

The M.C. read letters of acknowledgement from Mrs. Kramer and Mrs. Herb Scidmore, Marshfield, both were teachers, and a letter was read from Mrs. Lynn (Marjorie Kieser) Gehring, Eleva.

Prizes were awarded to Steve Danielson for the first reservation; Jerry Weideman for most recently married; Mrs. Dennis Nowacki, the largest family; Berth Brunkhorst, the shortest skirt; Ken Wilhelmi, fellow with the largest waist; Ralph Baxter, coming the furthest distance.

Class members attending the reunion were: Mr. and Mrs. Steve Danielson, Appleton; Mr. and Mrs. Ken Wilhelmi, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Ernest (Bernadine Mueller) Williams, Marshfield; Mr. and Mrs. Duane ((Delores Melvin) Umlauft, Menasha; Mr. and Mrs. Richard (Judy Laabs) Goff, Mosinee; Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Baxter, Villa Park, Illinois; Mr. and Mrs. Allen Empey, Casco; Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Joy Hayden) Matheus, Beaver Dam; Miss Karen Bub and guests, Milwaukee; Miss Barbara Smith, Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. David (Juanita Wiese) Krug, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Dennis (Susan Schemenauer) Nowacki, Athens; Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Weideman, Abbotsford; Beth Brunkhorst, Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Heinz Fischer, Bristol; Mr. and Mrs. Gerald (June Hodd) Johnson, Medford; Mr. and Mrs. Louis (Hazel Weideman) Bruss, Appleton; Mr. and Mrs. Bill (Sharol Nikolay) Lahnertz, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Mr. and Mrs. Harold (Connie Herrmann) Strohbehn, Marshfield; and Mr. and Mr.s Gary Anderson, Holmen.

It was decided to have another class reunion in five years. Those in charge of the next reunion are Beth Brunkhorst, Karen Bub and Barbara Smith.

Mrs. Maurice Thompson, who was the fourth grade teacher of most of the students present, greeted the students and wished them all well.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel