School: Neillsville H.S. - 2020 WIAA Scholar Athletes (2020)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Diestler, Oldham

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 5/06/2020

NHS Announces 2020 WIAA Scholar Athletes (Diestler/Oldham – 2020)

Two graduating seniors at Neillsville High School have been named 2020 WIAA Scholar Athletes.

Monte Diestler and Kayla Oldham were the students named and will receive medals from the WIAA for being selected.

Monte Diestler was named one of Neillsville High School’s WIAA Scholar Athletes for 2020. Submitted photo

Diestler, son of Mathew and Diane Diestler, will graduate summa cum laude with a 3.97 gradepoint average. Diestler earned 11 varsity letters during his high school athletic career while participating in football, basketball and baseball. He earned all-conference recognition in football and basketball.

Diestler plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-La Cross this fall.

Neillsville High School named Kayla Oldham as one of its WIAA Scholar Athletes for 2020. Submitted photo

Oldham, daughter of Steve and Sandra Oldham, will graduate summa cum laude with a 3.98 gradepoint average. Oldham earned eight varsity letters during her high school career while participating in cross country, basketball and track and field.

Oldham plans to attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison this fall.

Each year, WIAA member schools are invited to nominate one boy and one girl for scholar athlete honors. The program, which is underwritten by Marshfield Clinic, was launched in 1984 to showcase the positive impact of interscholastic athletic activities.

To qualify for WIAA scholar athlete recognition, a nominee must have earned at least four varsity letters through the first half of his or her senior year and must have a cumulative gradepoint average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

In addition to local awards, 32 of the 800-plus students nominated each year are selected for statewide recognition. Four boys and four girls in each of four WIAA divisions are honored at a ceremony yearly on the first Sunday of May in Wausau.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel