School: Owen H.S. – Classes of 1944-46 (Reunion – 1975)


Surnames: Olson, Peterson, Matthias, Kessenich, Rasmussen, Mauel, Klay, Hansen, Katke, Autio, Hamalainen, Michel, Phillips, McMillan, Bangle, Clark, Bednarczyk, Bloom, Devine, Janda, Dux, Dimeo, Johnson, Klabon, Hendricks, Lulloff, Roberts, Sorenson, Ponton, Telin, Marsh, Tollock, Buss, Woik, Alexander, , Awe, Drake, Awe, Pribbernow, Thompson, Laabs, Knecht, Bublitz, Laube, Liberty, Bjornstad, Puro, Luoma, Riley, Sommer, Wachsmuth, Walkama, Goessel, Bjorn, Wenta, Dike, Chnesorge, Potocnik, Madsen, Richardson, Reed, Turner, Ridpath, Baier, Sorenson, Kobylarczyk, Hrynieiwski, Piro, Smith, Harris

---------Source: Owen Enterprise (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 06 Aug 1975

Three classes from the Owen High School held their reunion at the Meadowview Country Club July 19, 1975. This was the first reunion for the class of 1944.

A tour of the old high school was held in the afternoon, followed by a social hour, dinner and dancing.

Honored guests were Mr. and Mrs. Ed Olson, Pelican Lake, Wis., and Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Peterson, Curtiss, Wis. Special gifts were present to Mrs. Peterson and Mr. Olson.

Prizes were also given to Dale Matthias for having traveled the farthest, Margaret (Kessenich) Rasmussen for having the most grandchildren, Hank Mauel for having the most children, Walt Klay for changing the most, Yvonne (Hansen) Katke for changing the least, Ed Autio for the largest waistline, Miriam (Hamalainen) Michel for the smallest waistline, and Russell Phillips for having the only mustache.

A lovely purple and gold floral centerpiece was also presented to Mr. and Mrs. Pete McMillan for being the most recent newlywed, and in appreciation for all the help Pete gave in preparing the reunion and acting as master of ceremonies. A second floral centerpiece was won by Howard Katke for having the lucky numbered dessert plate.

1944 Class Members Attending were:

Mr. and Mrs. James (Armilla Bangle) Clark, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. John Bednarczyk, Jeffersonville, Indiana, Mr. and Mrs. Carl Bloom, West Bend, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Sy (Betty Devine) Janda, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Albert (Evelyn Dux) Dimeo, Neillsville, Mr. and Mrs. Howard *Yvonne Hansen) Katke, Cudahy, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Norman Johnson, Louisville, Kentucky, Mr. and Mrs. Kris (Margaret Kessenich) Rasmussen, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Gordon (Jennie Klabon) Hendricks, Gilman, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Walt Klay, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Arlyn Lulloff, Arlington, Tennessee, Mr. Dick Roberts and friend Grace Piro, Park Ridge, Illinois, Mr. and Mrs. Clarence (Ferne Sorenson) Ponton, Cudahy, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Eric Telin, Marshfield, Wis., Dolly (Marsh) Tollock, Madison, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Norbert Buss, Libertyville, Illinois, and Mr. and Mrs. Robert Woik, Mayville, Wis.

1945 Class Members Attending were:

Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Alexander, Richland Center, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Autio, Rockford, Illinois, Mrs. George (Bonniebelle Awe), Drake, Milwaukee, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Charles (Ilene Awe) Pribbernow, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Douglas (Mildred Thompson) Graham, Joliet, Illinois, Mr. and Mrs. Rolland (Vernetta Laabs) Bublitz, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Bob (Mary Ann Liberty), Bjornstad, West Allis, Wis., Mr. Dale Matthias, Springfield, Virginia, Mrs. George (Miriam Puro) Luoma, Fond du Lac, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. James Riley, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Leonard (Marilyn) Sommer, Arlington Heights, Illinois, Mr. and Mrs. Herbert (Jean Walkama) Goessel, Curtiss, Wis.

1946 Class Members Attending were:

Mr. and Mrs. J. (Rachel Bjorn) Wenta, St. Joseph, Illinois, Mr. and Mrs. Armin (Bernice Dike) Chnesorge, Pardeeville, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Miriam Hamalainen) Michel, Elmhurst, Illinois, Mr. and Mrs. Ed (Bernice Laube) Potocnik, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. William (Lois Madsen) Richardson, Waupun, Wis., Mr. and Mrss. Henry Mauel, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Pete McMillan, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Russell Phillips, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Glen (Helen Reed) Turner, Burbank, Illinois, Mr. and Mrs. William (Nina Ridpath) Baier, Elmwood, Wis., Mr. and Mrs. Ray (Gladys Sorenson) Kobylarczyk, Thorp, Wis., Mrs. Arlun (Loretta Smith) Harris, Chippewa Falls, Wis., Mrs. Henry (Evelynne Bednarczyk), Hryniewiski, Rothschild.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel