School: Colby H.S. Class of 1959 (10 Year Reunion – 1969)


Surnames: Gries, Haavisto, Decker, Ellenbecker, Leister, Erickson, Kelley, Fink, Fitzel, Poister, Hoffman, Foucher, Lanteau, Yost, Larson, Meyer, Mierkey, Tautges, Neitzel, Utke, Scheelk, Furrer, Romens, Bolander, Schnelle, Woodlard, Schjoneman, O'Toole, Schuh, Sterzinger, Huss, Stuttgen, Weiler, Weix, Kipp, Winkel, Carlson, Dauvell, Gustafson, Winkler, Pfeffer, Herrmann, Ohlinger, Wavrunek, Morrow, Kilty, Johnson, Fisher, Zygowicz, Langjahr, Matson, Morrow

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 11 Sep 1969

A ten year class reunion was held at the Colby Hotel on Saturday evening, August 30, 1969 for the 1959 senior class of Colby High School.

A cocktail hour gathered the group together for a family style dinner of roast chicken and baked ham.

The program consisted of a welcome home speech by master of ceremonies, Bill Gries, followed by an individual introduction by each class member. There were letters read from a few classmates unable to attend.

Martin Haavisto gave an insight into the changes made in the curriculum, the school building and even the students.

After dinner refreshments were served in the Pine Room, during which time Bill Gries showed some slides.

Those present included Mr. and Mrs. Martin Haavisto, guests of honor, Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Decker, Eau Claire, Mrs. Joseph (Doris (Ellenbecker) Leister, Loyal, Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Shirley Erickson) Kelley, Wisconsin Rapids, Miss Donna Fink, West Lafayette, Indiana, Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth (Diane Fitzel) Poister, Janesville, Mr. and Mrs. Bill Gries, Madison, Mr. and Mrs. James (Shirley Hoffman) Foucher, Waldo, Mr. and Mrs. Fay (Bonita Langteau) Yost, Medford, Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Larson, Binghamton, New York, James Meyer, Chicago, Mr. and Mrs. Herbert (Mardelis Mierkey) Tautges, Athens, Mr. and Mrs. Harold (Beverly Neitzel) Utke), Curtiss, Mr. and Mrs. Alvin (Bonnie Scheelk) Furrer of Janesville, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel (Darlene Romens) Bolander, Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. Mack (Marla Schnelle) Woodland, Springfield, Virginia, Miss Janice Schjoneman and guests, Miss Pat O'Toole, Chicago, Mr. and Mrs. Roger Schuh, Madison, Mr. and Mrs. Bernard (Denise Sterzinger) Huss, Peshtigo, Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Stuttgen, Thorp, Mr. and Mrs. Jerome Weiler, Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Paul (Barbara Weix) Kipp, Rice Lake, Mrs. Carol (Winkel) Carlson, Marshfield, Mr. and Mrs. Franklin (Janelle Dauvell) Gustafson, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Winkler, Mrs. Mary (Sterzinger) Kelley, Mr. and Mrs. Glenn (Darlene Pfeffer) Herrmann, Mr. and Mrs. Bernard (Marian Ohlinger) Wavrunek, Mr. and Mrs. Jim Morrow, Mr. and Mrs. Harley (Miriam Kilty) Johnson, Mr. and Mrs. Jerome (Bonnie Fisher) Zygowicz, all of Colby, and Neal Langjahr and Harvey Matson, both of Unity.

Jim Morrow was elected chairman of the 15 years class reunion. 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel