School: Colby H.S. Class of 1954 (15 Year Reunion – 1969)

Transcriber: Ellen Johnson

Surnames: Becken, Steinwand, Untiedt, Fink, Bargender, Bobert, Evans, Ballerstein, Koncyak, Evans, Schmidtbauer, Bender, Miller, Block, Decker, Diedrich, Engeldinger, Gottschalk, Apfelbeck, Rackel, Hasseldick, Hoernke, Fricke, Hanson, Jakel, Hoffmann, Abney, Kaiser, Vrana, Koeppen, Koran, Mielke, Krivity Olson, Kunze, Schmitt, Fischer, Schuh, Goetz, Schoelzel, Popal, Schneider, Standley, Strade, Wolff, Viegut, Wussow, Anderson, , Beaver, Gubbs, Revie, Drews, Feind, Flick, Kubera, Grasse, Hofman, Beguhn, Kowalk, Leffel, Krueger, Lindsay, Marquardt, Nipko, Reckner, Smart, Devine, Strathman

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 26 Jun 1969

Members of the class of 1954 of Colby High School held their 15th anniversary class reunion Saturday, June 17, 1969.

The festivities began with a upper at the Colby Hotel at 8 p.m., followed by a social gathering at Wayside Inn, with refreshments and live music Jay and Phil.

Several prizes were awarded. The winners included Mrs. Halver Becken (Sandra Steinwand) of Milwaukee, for having come the greatest distance; Harry Untiedt for having the least amount of hair; Donald Fink for the largest waistline; Mrs. Urban Bargender (Arlene Bobert) of Edgar, for the smallest waistline, and Mrs. Richard Evans (Erna Ballerstein) for the shortest dress. Leon Koncyak won the door prize, which was the centerpiece of a bouquet of flowers.

Letters were read from those unable to attend.

Present for the reunion were Mr. and Mrs. Richard Evans (Erna Ballerstein), Schofield; Mr. and Mrs. William Schmidtbauer (Barbara Bender) , Tomahawk; Mr. and Mrs. Ray Miller Jr. (Joan Block), Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Urban Bargender (Arlene Bobert), Edgar; Mr. and Mrs. Arlyn Decker, Germantown; Mr. and Mrs. Carl Diedrich, Milwaukee; Arnold Engeldinger, Wisconsin Rapids; Donald Fink, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Elroy Gottschalk, Brookfield; Mr. and Mrs. Dale Apfelbeck (Imogene Rackel), Abbotsford; Mr. and Mrs. Leon Koncyak (Ehtel Hasseldick), Milwaukee, Miss Arlene Hoernke, Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Edward Fricke (Rochelle Hanson), Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Richard Jakel (Shirley Hoffmann), Menomonee Falls; Mr. and Mrs. Jack Abney (Kathleen Kaiser), Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Vrana (Wynole Koeppen), Colby, Mr. and Mrs. John Koran, Marshfield; Mr. and Mrs. Albert Mielke, Edgar; Mrs. Jack Krivity (Phyllis Olson_, La Crosse; Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Kunze (Verjean Schmitt), Abbotsford; Mr. and Mrs. Valgene Fischer (Marie Schuh), Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Goetz (Audris Schoelzel), Spencer; Mr. and Mrs. Verland Schneider, Spencer; Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Popal (Dolores, Schneider), Wausau; Mr. and Mrs. Halver Becken (Sandra Steinwand), Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Harry Standley (Dolores Strade) Spencer; Mr. and Mrs. Harry Untiedt, Germantown; Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Wolff, Edgar, and Mr. and Mrs. Aren Viegut (Norma Wussow), Edgar.

The next reunion will be held on the last Saturday of June in 1974. The committee in charge will be Albert Mielke, Warren Berg, Mrs. Jerry Vrana, and and Mrs. Dale Apfelbeck.

Not able to attend the 15th class reunion were Robert Andersen of Spencer; Mrs. Clarence Gubbs (Alberta Beaver), California; Mrs. Jack Revie (Lila Drews), Merrill; David Feind of Milwaukee; Miss Carmen Flick, Colby; Mrs. Arlyn Kubera (Dolores Hanson), Kansville; Mrs. Gerald Grasse (Faye Hofman), Oshkosh; Mrs. Richard Reguhn (Betty Kowalk), Elk Mound; Mrs. Milford Leffel (Gerry Krueger), Pickerel, Mississippi; Miss May Lindsay, Downers Grove, Illinois, William Marquardt, West Allis; James Nipko, New York; Mrs. Merton Reckner (Mary Belle Smart) Spencer; Mrs. Robert Devine (Roberta Strathman), Withee, and Emil Untiedt Jr., Curtiss.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel