Bio: Newman, Dorene (Farm Wife Award - 1981)

Transcriber: Robert Lipprandt 

Surnames: Firnstahl, Newman, Rohde, Roth, Sauer, Skie

----Source: The Tribune-Phonograph (Abbotsford, WI) 4/04/2018

Originally published in the Tribune-Phonograph, Wednesday, April 1, 1981.

Mrs. Dorene Newman, Unity, has been named the winner in the State Farm Wife of the Year contest sponsored by the Colby Chamber of Commerce.

Co-chairman of the contest, Marcella Sauer and Paul Firnstahl, announced contest results Tuesday. Mrs. Marie Skie, Merrill, was name first runner up and Mrs. Arlene Roth, Junction City, was named second runner up.

Mrs. Sauer and Firnstahl said the chamber received contest entries “from every corner of the state from a very representative group of outstanding farm wives.”

The three winners will be honored at an 8 p.m. dinner April 25 at the Sword in Colby. State secretary of Agriculture Gilbert Rohde will be the main speaker. Tickets for the dinner are available at Security State Banks, Abbotsford and Colby, Abbotsford State Bank, all Harmony Co-op outlets and Jerry’s TV.

“Judging gets more difficult every year,” Firnstahl said. “The achievements of these women are fantastic. They really participate in the farm operation and other activities. It’s hard to envision how anyone will be successful farmer these days without complete cooperation from the wives.”

Mrs. Newman said she felt “just great” about her selection. “This is really something,” she said. “I was a runner up for two years in a row and it feels good to be a winner.”

Mrs. Newman and her husband Donald, along with their children, operate Six-D Farms.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel