School: Owen H.S. Class of 1952 (17 Year reunion – 1969)


Surnames: Stephens, Thorson, Mills, Krarup, Grube, Rossman, Guden, Roberson, Fischer, Klessig, Alexander, Ruff, Arola, Awe, Wickerham, Churkey, Lange, Gustafson, Greschner, Hiebsch, Wentworth, Horn, Johnson, Hanson, Hamm, Konik, Larsen, Satonic, Peterson, Roberson, Piotrowski, Stasek, Laabs, Ewert, Strohkirch, Balz, Southworth, Stephens, Doberstein, Wilksman, Nelson, Craig, Ciokiewicz, Dulek, Hacker, Olson, Meinhardt, Potocnik, Dittmann, Purgett, Sauer, Pyatt, Martins, Ross, Gwozdz, Guerten, Wedding, Blanchard, Nason, Gretzinger, Czeshinski, Gay, Lindgren, Mathewson, Stoffle, Schigley

---------Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 24 Jul 1969

Members of the 1852 Owen graduating class met for the first time at a reunion, which was held at the St. Bernard school cafeteria in Thorp (Clark Co., Wis.). A cocktail reception as held from 6:30 to 8:00 p.m., at which time a delicious dinner was served. After this, the master of ceremony, Jim Stephens, read the class will and he then introduced Loretta (Thorson) Mills, who read the class prophecy. Various prizes were awarded to those who came the farthest distance, Pearl (Krarup) Hanson from waterloo, Iowa, and Eldon Grube from Des Plaines, Ill.; Annette (Rossman) Guden with the most children, and Bill Roberson and Glenn Fischer for being the remaining bachelors of the class. A lovely booklet containing the resume of each graduate was handed out to each. Other prizes were also awarded.

Those attending were Mr. and Mrs. Ely Klessig (Jean Alexander), Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Ervin Ruff (Beverly Arola), Greendale, Wis.; Mr. and Mrs. Arnold Awe, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Wickerham (Mae Churkey), Marshfield; Mr. and Mrs. Duane Lange, Stevens Point; Mr. and Mrs. Eldon Grube, Des Plaines, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Mannon Gustafson, Colby' Mr. and Mrs. Stan Greschner (Lois Hiebsch), Withee; Mrs. Nadine Wentworth (Horn), Minneapolis, Minn.; Mr. and Mrs. Jack Johnson, East Troy, Wis.; Mr. and Mrs. R. Hanson (Pearl Krarup), Waterloo, Iowa; Mr. and Mrs. Robert Hamm (Marjorie Konik), Owen' Mr. and Mrs. Donald Mills (Loretta Thorson), Milwaukee; Mr. and Mrs. Jack Larsen, Stevens Point; Mr. and Mrs. S. Satonica (Ida Peterson), Owen; Bill Roberson, Madison; Mr. and Mrs. Stoffle (Adeline Piotrowski, Waukegan, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. M. Laabs (Gaymond Stasek), Shawano, Wis.; Mr. and Mrs. M. Ewert (Shirley Stasek), Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Strohkirch, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. C. Balz (Charlotte Southworth), Withee; Mr. and Mrs. James Stephens, Waupaca; Mr. and Mrs. Russell Doberstein (Shirley Wilksman), Owen; and Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Guden Jr. (Annette Rossman), Marshfield.

Those who were unable to attend were: Barbara (Allen) Nelson, Denver, Colo.; Glen Craig, Milwaukee, Wis.; Irene (Ciokiewicz) Dulek, Stratford, Calif.; Corrine (Hacker) Olson, Milwaukee; Frank Meinhardt, Homestead, Florida; Doris (Potocnik) Dittmann, Rio, Wis.; Janet (Purgett) Sauer, Sheboygan Falls, Wis.; Darlene (Pyatt) Martins, Seymour, Wis.; Sylvester Ross, New York; Arlene (Schigley) Gwozdz, Chciago, Ill.; Bernice (Southworth) Guerten, Madison; Lea (Wedding) Blanchard, Sussex, Wis.; Nancy (Nason) Gretzinger, Wilmington, Delaware; Ted Czeshinski, Ted Gay, Bernard Lindgren, and Mardelle Mathewson.

After renewing acquaintances and reminiscing, the class decided to hold another reunion in five years. The committee in charge is: Loretta and Don Mills, Jack Larsen, Ken Strohkirch, Louis Greschner and Jim Stephens.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel