News: Neillsville Boy Scouts (Earn 54 Merit Badges - 2016)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Abbott, Anason, Cortez, Durst, Fields, Felski, Gilles, Jacobs, John, Patterson, Timp, Subke, Schmitz, Swita, Slenczka

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 9/14/2016

Neillsville Boy Scouts (Earn 54 Merit Badges - 2016)

Neillsville Boy Scouts of Troop 43, along with their scoutmasters, pose for a photo at this year’s summer camp at Camp Phillips (Contributed photo)

Sixteen Boy Scouts from Neillsville’s Troop 43 earned 54 merit badges this year at summer camp. The badges included those for outdoor survival, kayaking, rifle shooting, astronomy and other skills.

Attending camp this year were Griffen Abbott, Tristen Abbott, Joe Anason, Christopher Cortez, Sawyer Durst, Ben Fields, Andrew Felski, Austin Gilles, Evan Jacobs, Matthew Jacobs, Nolan John, Tucker Patterson, Miles Timp, Santana Subke, Kolin Schmitz and Easton Swita.

The badges were earned at Camp Phillips, a 1,250-acre reservation located near Rice Lake. It encompasses five lakes, gun and archery shooting ranges, climbing tower, high-angle ropes course, zip line, historic dining hall and other facilities.

Matthew Jacobs was elected senior patrol leader and Tristen Abbott was elected assistant senior patrol leader. Nolan John and Evan Jacobs were elected patrol leaders. Adult leaders who accompanied Troop 43 were Scoutmaster Glen Slenczka and assistant scoutmasters Larry Anason and Dave Fields.

Four Scouts were inducted into Scouting’s Order of the Arrow National Honor Society. They were Nolan John, Evan Jacobs, Sawyer Durst and Andrew Felski. Two scouts and one scouter, Tristen Abbott, Ben Fields and Dave Fields, were advanced from OA’s Ordeal to Brotherhood membership.

The 16 scouts of Troop 43 were among 1,800 participants who attended Camp Phillips this year. The camp, administered by the Chippewa Valley Council, hosted scouts from around Wisconsin, as well as troops from Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois and Colorado.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel