News: Neillsville – Mormon Historical Marker (Placed - 2016)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Listeman, Clough, Barth, Jurgaitis, Bentti

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 8/24/2016

Historical Marker in Neillsville (Placed - 2016)

The official Wisconsin Historical Marker has been place at the entrance to the Listeman Arboretum to tell the early beginning of the community of Neillsville. A ceremony of dedication/celebration will take place Saturday, Sept. 10, 2016, beginning at 1 p.m. at the marker. An information kiosk is being installed nearby, which will have much information about the Neillsville area. One feature is a pocket with brochures that tell even more about the history of Neillsville by providing a walking tour of all the historic buildings in the city. Parking for the dedication ceremony will be available at Strike Time Lanes on STH 73 just off of STH 10 (Division Street). Shuttle service will be available, compliments of the School District of Neillsville. After the ceremony, all are invited to the CART center at 201 E. 4th Street in Neillsville for appetizers and entertainment until 3 p.m. The appetizers will be prepared by the culinary arts department of CART. The entertainment will reflect the historical nature of the city of Neillsville. Gathering near the historical marker the day it was place are (l-r) Dan Clough, Neillsville Improvement Corporation president; Regan Barth, Neillsville City Cemetery sexton/parks director; Mary Jurgaitis, historical marker project coordinator; Jurgaitis’ daughter, Elisabeth Bentti; Mark Jurgaitis; and Bentti’s sons, Nathan 12, and Eli, 10. (Photo by Todd Schmidt/Clark County Press)



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel