School: Abbotsford HS Class of 1966 (50 Year Reunion - 2016)

Transcriber: Robert Lipprandt
Surnames: Bernt, Broeske, Colby, Dyson, Fasse, Felstead, Gauerke, Goldsmidt, Grube, Hutman, Irish, Jensen, Jicinsky, Johnson, Kattre, Kelsey, Krueger Leahy, Lulloff, Mantik, Meske, Mueller, Olson, Orth, Plowman, Ridderbusch, Schmidt, Spence, Tomesh, Underwood, Weideman, Wojner

----Source: The Tribune - Phonograph (Abbotsford, WI) 8/30/2016

Twenty-two classmates came together August 12 and 13 to celebrate their 50th anniversary of graduation from Abbotsford High School.

The new high school was opened for use in April of 1966 and these alumni were the first class to graduate from the new school, on May 25, 1966.

The class started in August of 1962 with 82 freshmen in the Dor-Abby High School. In 1964, the Dor-Abby High School ended and Abbotsford High began. The class lost 38 classmates because of this change.

Since graduation, the class has lost four members: Dennis Zwirchitz, died of injuries in the war in Vietnam, in 1968; Robert Olsen, in 1998; Bruce Klocke, in 2005; and Kathleen Knight, in 2014.

The reunion started out on Friday August 12, with a meet and greet at Bowl Winkles Bar & Bowl in Colby. The class was hoping some of their Dor-Abby classmates in the area would join them. An evening for caching up and visiting was fun for everyone there.

On Saturday, August 13, several members took in a tour of the high school, provided by Principal Ryan Bargender. They learned a lot about all the advancements in so many areas of teaching and special awards the school has received. The class continues to be proud to have graduated from Abbotsford High School and thanked the enthusiastic Bargender for his very informative tour.

The day continued with an evening of socializing at the Meadowview Golf Club in Owen, which included dinner and a great program provided by emcees Leo Leahy and Duane Grube. Besides Wisconsin, classmates traveled from Georgia, Montana, Illinois and Oklahoma. The reunion was greatly enjoyed. It was decided that another reunion should be held in five years.

A big thank you goes out to the reunion committee Ruth (Meske) Mueller, Diane (Olson) Lulloff, Sandy (Krueger) Orth, Judee (Broeske) Jicinsky, Buck Colby, Barb (Fasse) Jensen, Wendy Wojner, Julian (Judy Weidenman) Tomesh and Clayton Kattre. They did a wonderful job of planning, finding classmates, decorating and preparing the program. The alumni hope to continue living by their class motto: “It matters not how long you live, but how.”

Congratulations Abbotsford class of 1966.

Attendees were: Duane Grube, Mavis (Schmidt) Dyson, Bev (Underwood) Felstead, Nancy (Weideman) Goldsmidt, Diane (Olson) Lulloff, Helmut Bernt, Gerald Gauerke, Ruth (Meske) Mueller, Pat (Spence) Hutman, Barb (Fasse) Jensen, Sandy (Krueger) Orth, Julian (Judy Weideman) Tomesh, Wendy Wojner, Patricia (Mantik) Plowman, Eddie Irish, Alan Ridderbusch, Dennis Johnson, Leo Leahy, Terry Kelsey, Clayton Kattre, Judee (Broeske) Jicinsky and Warren “Buck” Colby.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel