School: Neillsville HS – Valedictorian/Salutatorian (2016)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Anason, Neville, Anderson, Ruskin, Poeschel, Voigt, Bixby, Brekke, Durst, Enstad, Kuhn, Kunze, May, Pfeiffer, Reil, Rueth, Ruzic

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 5/25/2016

NHS Names Valedictorian and Salutatorian (Awards - 2016)

NHS Names Valedictorian and Salutatorian

Rebecca Anason

By Todd Schmidt

Neillsville High School has announced the Class of 2016 valedictorian and salutatorian.

Rebecca Anason is the valedictorian. During her high school career, she received three Academic Letters, a Varsity Band Letter, a Cloverbelt Academic Scholar award and a Youth Achievement award for math. She was recently named Neillsville Junior Kiwanian.

Anason is also a participant in the Creative Writing Club, which is not associated with the School District of Neillsville. She continues to be active in the AKF Martial Arts Academy, advancing as a First Dan Black Belt in Kyuki-Do, a green belt in Judo and a green stripe in Hapkido.

Anason has assisted as a teacher for Women’s Awareness Self Defense Training classes and has logged over 200 hours as a volunteer at The Highground and over 450 hours as a volunteer at the Neillsville Public Library.

This summer, Anason plans to work as a lifeguard for the Neillsville Recreation Department, while continuing her volunteer activities at The Highground and the Neillsville Public Library. She will also obtain additional training at the AKF Martial Arts Academy.

Anason will attend UW-Whitewater to obtain a Bachelor’s degree in accounting.

She is the daughter of Larry and Kay Anason of Neillsville.

Claire Neville

Claire Neville is the salutatorian. She is a three-time Academic letter recipient and has received a Cloverbelt Scholar award.

Neville has compiled a distinguished list of co-curricular activities, including National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society, Spanish Club and Student Council (president). She has served as an officer for the Class of 2016 (treasurer, vice president and two years as president). Neville is Yearbook editor-in-chief, and has been recognized as Neillsville Junior Kiwanian.

Neville is a true believer in community service. She has volunteered for blood drives and the Walk of Hope. She is a member of the ELCA Church Youth Group and the Northwest Synod Youth Board and has participated in the church group mission trips.

Neville is an active member of the Marshfield Youth Ballet Company and enjoys working with the Classical Ballet program.

Her work experience includes Main Street Conservatory of Dance (receptionist), Mortenson family (nanny), Neillsville Recreation Department (lifeguard and dance teacher) and Schmitty’s on Main (dishwasher, cook and waitress).

This summer, Neville will continue working at Schmitty’s on Main. She will also be going on a youth mission trip to Nashville, TN.

Neville plans to attend UW-Milwaukee this fall, to pursue a major in journalism, advertising and media studies, with a minor in global studies.

She is the daugher of Bill and Jill Neville of Neillsville.

The Neillsville High School Commencement Ceremony will be held in the Fieldhouse Saturday, May 28, 2016 at 2 p.m. Seventy-seven members of the Class of 2016 will receive their diplomas.

Principal Craig Anderson Ruskin will introduce the graduates. He will present diplomas along with Neillsville School Board President Dewey Poeschel and Vice President Sue Voigt.

The class flower is Sweetness Rose; Class colors are red and white.

During the ceremony, the following honor students will be recognized, along with the Valedictorian and Salutatorian: Alexandra Bixby, Anna Brekke, Dalton Durst, Jessica Enstad, Dominic Kuhn, Jacob Kunze, Nicholas May, Danielle Pfeiffer, Cameron Reil, Krista Rueth and McKenna Ruzic.

The Concert Choir will perform “We Won’t Stop Dreaming” by PINKZE-BRA. The Senior Choir will perform “I Was Here” by Burr, Scott and Shaw.

The Neillsville High School Band will offer processional and recessional selections.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel