School: Colby H.S. Class of 1943 (25th Reunion – 1968)


Surnames: Awe, Bushman, Bjorn, Butler, Roohr, Scheel, Schuh, Zettel, Engeldinger, Sell, Syring, Amundson, Hollman, Ballerstein, Forss, Hein, Alexander, Bender, Bast, Thorson, Baumgart, Walsh, Stieber, Arends, Voigtlander, Walsh, Gutenberger, Lukowicz, Elstrom, Merwin, Duellman, Caron, Peterson, Wolf, Rosinski, Rannow, Strathman, Herrmann, Rankel, Lamont Firnstahl, Apfelbeck, Abrahamson

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 04 Jul 1968

The Colby High School graduating class of 1943 celebrated their 25th reunion Saturday evening, June 22, 1968. Following a tour of the new high school, conducted by Mr. and Mrs. Royal Awe, the class members gathered at the Redwood Club for dinner and refreshments.

Guests were seated at tables decorated with silver and maroon streamers, silver candles and silver vases with yellow roses. Each classmate also received a yellow rose with silver and maroon ribbons, the class colors.

In our selves our future lies, the class motto, decorated the wall.

Mrs. Royal Awe read the letters from the teachers, Mr. Fred Bushman of Rockledge, Fla, and Mrs. E.A. Rundholm, the former Ruth Bjorn, who were unable to attend. She also read letters from the following classmates who weren't able to attend: Joe Butler, Ashland, Ore, George Roohr, Logan, Utah, Glenn Scheel and Walter Schuh of Milwaukee, Mrs. Ralph Zettel (Mary Engeldinger), Alexandria, Va., Mrs. Armond Sell (Evelyn Syring), Dearborn, Mich., and Mrs. Lloyd Amundson, Waupaca.

Mrs. Richard Hollman read minutes of the 1st two class reunions; Robert Ballerstein acted as master of ceremonies, calling on each member present, who responded with a short history of the last five years.

A moment of silence was held for those of the class deceased, namely, Melvin Forss and Mrs. Charles Hein (Vera Alexander); teachers, Mr. Harry Bender, Mrs. Claire Abrahamson and John Bast, Menomonee Falls, husband of Gloria Thorson, who passed away June 11.

Prizes, which were the silver vases with yellow roses on the tables were awarded to: Mrs. Jane Baumgart and Mrs. Armin Walsh of Marshfield, Donald Forss of Ellsworth, David Stieber of Friendship, and Mrs. John Arends of Milwaukee.

Classmates and their spouses present were: Mr. and Mrs. Donald Forss, Ellsworth, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Voigtlander, Urbana, Ill., Mr. and Mrs. Armin Walsh (Rita) Gutenberger, and Mrs. James Baumgart, Marshfield, Mr. and Mrs. John Arends, Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. Arland Elstrom, West Chicago, Ill., Mr. and Mrs. David Stieber (Joyce Merwin), Friendship, Mr. and Mrs. Edward Duellman (Teresa Caron), Rhinelander; Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Peterson (Marie Wolf), Tomah, Mr. and Mrs. Clifford Rosinski (Leona Rannow, Hales Corners, Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Strathman, Abbotsford, Mr. and Mrs. Brice Bender, Mr. and Mrs. Royal Awe (Irene Herrmann), Mr. and Mrs. Richard Hollman (Mathilda Rankel), Mr. and Mrs. Angus Lamont (Virginia Firnstahl), Mr. and Mrs. Robert Ballerstein, and Joseph Apfelbeck, all of Colby.

The reunion was planned by Mrs. Richard Hollman, Mrs. Royal Aw and Robert Ballerstein.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel