School: Withee H.S. Class of 1916 (50th Reunion – 1966)


Surnames: Hansen, Scherf, Madison, Barager, Parkinson, Smith, Rasmussen, Foster, Nielsen, Frost, Koyen, Ammentorp, Weddig, Jacobsen

---------Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 09 Jun 1966

Out of a class of 11 graduates, five members of the 1916 graduating class of the Withee High School were in attendance at the 50th anniversary, which was held Friday, June 3, 1966. This special occasion was the only class reunion ever held by the graduates.

Festivities began Friday at 2:30 in the afternoon with the group meeting at the new Owen-Withee High School, where a tour of the building was conducted. They then attended a coffee social hour at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Emil Hansen. The anniversary banquet was held at the Florine at Medford, where the five attending graduates and four guests enjoyed a lovely dinner.

Those in attendance were Miss Natalie Scherf, Withee; Miss Elizabeth Hansen, Minneapolis; Emil Hansen, Owen; Miss Nile Moody, Madison, and Miles Barager, Seattle. Other guests were Mrs. Miles Barager, Mrs. Emil Hansen, Mrs. Oscar Parkinson, and I.C. Barager of Eau Claire.

The group then convened to the cottage of Miss Natalie Scherf on Sacket Lake, where an enjoyable evening was spent reminiscing and conducting the program. Miles Barager acted as master of ceremonies. Each member gave a sketch of his life's history since graduating in 1916. Letters were read from those unable to attend and from former teachers.

Awards were presented, with Miles Barager receiving the prize for coming the greatest distance. Miles Barager received the prize for the most children (He has two). Miss Barager received the prize for the most grandchildren and Mrs. Nile Moody received the prize for having her W.H.S. pin.

Committee in charge of the festivities were conducted by Miss Natalie Scherf, Emil Hansen, Elizabeth Hansen, and Mrs. Ruth Moody.

A note of interest, recalling the graduation of 1016 named Thyra Frost as valedictorian, Elizabeth Hansen, salutatorian, Miles Barager, class prophecy, and Emil Hansen, class history. Tribute was made to the memory of Karen Jacobsen.

Other members of the 1916 graduating class not in attendance were Mrs. Leon W. Smith (Agnes Rasmussen) of Fond du Lac; Mrs. H.B. Foster (Anne Nielsen), Coronado, Calif.; Mrs. Edwin Hansen (Thyra Frost), Muskegon, Mich.; Mrs. Patrick Koyen (Elizabeth Ammentorp), Mout Dora, Fla.; and Harvey Weddig, Owen.

On Saturday morning Miss Natalie Scherf was hostess to a 9 o'clock breakfast and a morning of visiting and sharing pictures of yesteryears.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel