Obit: Strohkirch, Delia (1877 – 1965)


Surnames: Strohkirch, Dabler, Johnson

---------Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 13 May 1965

Strohkirch, Delia (14 MAR 1877 – 10 MAY 1965)

Services were held this morning at 9:30 o'clock from the Hoeper and Kraut Funeral Home for Mrs. Ernest Strohkirch, a former resident of this community (Owen, Clark Co., Wis.). Father H.C. Crubel of the Holy Rosary Catholic Church, Owen, officiated at the final rites, with burial being made at Riverside Cemetery. Six grandsons, James, William, John and Terry Strohkirch and Harold and Orville Dabler, served as pallbearers.

Mrs. Strohkirch's death came a few hours after she sustained a skull fracture, as well as other fractures and injuries, in a fall down the cellar steps in her home at Wausau. She passed away early Monday morning at St. Mary's Hospital at Wausau.

Despite her 88 years of age she had been healthy and active up to the time of her injury. Born March 14, 1877 in Ireland, she came to this country as a young lady, and on April 3, 1902 was united in marriage to the late Ernest Strohkirch in a ceremony performed at Hibbing, Minn. The couple lived at Hibbing and Brey, Minn. until 1914, when they came to Clark County, settling on a farm south of Withee, where they resided until 1944, when they moved to Wausau.

Her sudden passing is mourned by five sons, Henry Strohkirch, with whom she has been making her home, and Walter, both of Wausau, Clarence, Paul and Russell, Owen; two daughters, Mrs. Myrtle Johnson, Chippewa Falls and Mrs. Louise (Alice) Dabler, Mosinee; 19 grandchildren and six great-grandchildren. He husband preceded her in death, having passed away Sept. 17, 1951.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel