BioA: Bentz, Mr. and Mrs. Leo (Golden - 1973)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Bentz, Kissling, Besser, Kuechenmeister, McCarl, Kuehn

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 9/06/1973

Bentz, Mr. and Mrs. Leo (Golden - 24 August 1973)

On August 25, Mr. and Mrs. Leo Bentz of Woodstock, Il., observed their Golden anniversary. Both are former residents of Clark County, Leo from the Town of Lynn and Mollie (Mrs. Bentz), from the Town of Grant. After their marriage at Chicago, on August 24, 1923, they farmed for three years on the former John McCarl farm in the Town of Grant. The farm is now owned by Mr. and Mrs. George Kuehn. In 1926 the Bentz’s purchased a tract of land and moved to Woodstock, Il., where they developed apiaries which they continued through the years. ‘Bent’s Honey’ is more in demand each year.

The observance was held at Wowona Lodge on Big St. Germaine Lake at Woodruff, Wis., which is operated by Mr. Bentz’s niece, Mrs. Herman Besser of Chicago. Ronald Bentz, the honored couple’s only child, and his wife, Albuquerque, N. M., planned and arranged the gala celebration. Over 60 relatives and close friends were present for the 6 p.m. dinner and evening party. Those attending had the privilege of remaining overnight at the Wowona Lodge and cottages.

Attending from the Neillsville area were Mr. and Mrs. Ted Kissling (brother of Mrs. Bentz), Mrs. Eleanor Kuechenmeister (sister of Mrs. Bentz), Mrs. Harry Kissling (sister-in-law), Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Kissling and Mr. and Mrs. Gary Kuechenmeister and sons, Lee and Monty.

The wedding cake for the occasion was made and decorated by Mrs. Gary Kuechenmeister.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel