School: NHS 1940 - 1950 Classes (Reunion - 2014)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Shaw, Hagedorn, Opelt, Hemp, Beyer, Carl, Ray, Schlinkert, Vandeberg, Buchsteiner, Flynn, Brown, Tibbetts, Wieting, Fisher, Tramm, Beyer, Wheeler, Trogner, Kuhn, Wilson, Drescher, Foster, Bender, Dudei, Swenson, Schultz, Tews, Seelow, Hubing, Gaier, Adkins, Prochaska, Schlinsog, Bodamer, Jonkel, Swann, Lipscy, Pepper, Kissling, Cook, Henchen, Meihack, Strebing, Thompson, Lowe, Marg, Jensen, Stanley, Trewartha, Larson, Herbel, Meyer, Tibbett, Mrotek, Rude, Stucki, Hause, Van Kirk, Naedler, Erpenbach, Van Gorden, Wasserburger, Wall, Suckow, Poppe, Schoengarth, Hohenstein, Phillips, Matson, Pietenpol, Kessler, Bertz, Jacoby, Greeler, Frei, Ziegler

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co, WI) 9/17/2014

NHS 1940 - 1950 Classes (Reunion - 6 September 2014)

Eleven classes of the Neillsville High School for the years 1940 through 1950 met for a reunion at the American Legion Hall at noon, Saturday, Sept. 6, 2014, with 92 attending.

The fellowship time began at 11 a.m., and at 12:30 p.m., a delicious family-style dinner was served by the Legion. Prior to the meal, there was much camaraderie among the group. The seating was arranged by class year. Lorraine (Hagedorn) Shaw acted as mistress of ceremonies and member in attendance of each class were introduced. Bob Opelt gave the table prayer. A poem was read entitled “Remembering Classmates” and a moment of silence was observed in their honor.

After the meal each class member had the opportunity to tell a bit about him or herself. This provided a lot of recollection of past experiences and also what was happening in their lived at the present time, which was entertaining to all. The group was invited to attend a Memorial Service being held later that day to honor 1945 classmate, Robert Hemp. Letters received from classmates not in attendance were on display for all to read.

The classmates in attendance were as follows:

Class of 1940 - Robert Opelt, Harold Beyer, Marian (Carl) Ray, all of Neillsville;

Class of 1941 - Clarence Schlinkert, Russell Vandeberg, Lorraine (Buchsteiner) Flynn, all of Neillsville; Marguerite (Brown) Tibbetts, Eau Claire;

Class of 1942 - Leona (Wieting) Fisher, Stratford; Dorothea (Tramm) Beyer, Wisconsin Rapids; Eileen (Tramm) Wheeler, Rockford, IL; Jean (Trogner) Kuhn, Neillsville;

Class of 1943 - Catherine (Wilson, Wieting) Drescher, Dr. John Foster, both of Neillsville; June (Bender) Dudei, Plainfield;

Class of 1944 - Cal Swenson, Bob Shaw, Howard Schultz, Alice (Beyer) Tews, Berdella Seelow, all of Neillsville; Wendell Hubing, Granton; Jerome Gaier, Marshfield; Lois (Tramm) Adkins, Florida;

Class of 1945 - Richard Prochaska, Rochester, MN; William Schlinsog, Middleton; Joan (Brown) Bodamer, Chippewa Falls; George Jonkel, Fountain, FL; Hilda (Swann) Lipscy and Mae (Bender) Hemp, both of Neillsville;

Class of 1946 - Ben Harder, Beloit, IL; Jean (Middleton) Hemp, San Antonio, TX; Lorraine (Hagedorn) Shaw, Jane (Pepper) Kissling, Dorothy (Cook) Henchen and Ronald Meihack, all of Neillsville;

Class of 1947 - Bernice (Strebing) Thompson, Marshfield; Edna (Shaw) Lowe, Olathe, KS; Betty (Marg) Jensen, Chippewa Falls;

Class of 1948 - Catherine (Swann) Stanley, Marshfield; Donald Trewartha, Alpena, MI; Betty (Larson) Schultz, Marshfield; Delores (Herbel) Meyer, Black River Falls; Pat (Tibbett) Mrotek, Donald Marg and Harold Gaier, all of Neillsville;

Class of 1949 - Barbara (Rude) Stucki, Manchester, MI; Dolores (Hause) Van Kirk, Verona; Fern (Naedler) Swenson, Donald Erpenbach, Irvin Marg, Pat (Van Gorden) Wasserburger, Ellis ‘Todd’ Wall, Ardith (Suckow) Poppe, Fritz Seelow, Harris Schoengarth, all of Neillsville;

Class of 1950 - Joyce (Kuhn) Hohenstein, Granton; Glen Phillips, Black River Falls; Patricia (Matson) Wall, Joanne (Pietenpol) Tibbett, Louis Kessler, Dorothy (Thompson, Bertz) Jacoby, Erland Greeler, Mary Jane Frei, Erline (Ziegler) Vandeberg, all of Neillsville.

There were 63 classmates in attendance plus spouses and guests. Another reunion was suggested in two years.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel