News: Neillsville Co. A Rifle Team (Wins Competition - 1915)

Contact: Ann Stevens

Surnames: Haugen, Wildish, Poff, Pool, Miller, Jacques, Rabenstein, Dwyer, Cummings, Fisher, Johnson, Lynch, Larsen, Meyer

----Source: Neillsville Times (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 4/29/1915

Company A Rifle Team Wins Competition (24 APR 1915)

Company A gallery rifle team went to Portage Saturday to compete with other Company teams for the indoor rifle shooting championship of the 3rd Inf. and 10th Battalion, and returned home with honors, winning the contest with a lead of 13 points over their nearest competitor.

The competing teams consisted of teams of 16 men and a team captain taken from the three companies in the regiment who had attained the highest figure of merit in indoor rifle practice during the four months ending April 30th and the highest company in the 10th Battalion. A like competition was held at the same time in the first and second regiments. The contest in the first regiment was held at Milwaukee, that of the second at Appleton, the winning team in each of these regimental contests will meet at Milwaukee in the near future to shoot for the indoor rifle shooting championship of the state. Company A of this city, having won the championship of the 3rd Inf. and 10th Battalion, will represent those organizations at the Milwaukee.

The following are the companies that participated in the regimental shoot at Portage with their total scores:
Co. A Neillsville, total score – 1890
Co. F Portage, total score – 1877
Company G Wausau, total score – 1869
Company D Ashland, total score – 1725

Company A was represented by the following members: Sergt. Joseph Haugen, team captain; team members: Lieut. Allen Wildish, Sergt. C.W. Poff, Sergt. Charles Pool, Sergt. Matt Miller, Corp. James Jacques, Corp. Carl Rabenstein, Musician Robert Dwyer, Privates Cummings J.D. Fisher Elgie, Haugen Herman, Haugen Thorniel, Johnson Ole, Lynch Donald, Larsen Colonel, Larsen Norman, Art. Meyer H.W.A.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel