News: Thorp (Thorp Courier 80th year - Nov 1963)


Surnames: Wagner, LaGasse, Elkins, Boardman, Beachwood, Banderob, Courter, Connors, Elmendorf, Fultz, Glasshof, Hubbard, Holzhausen, LaFlex, LeRoy, Melbinger, Mead, McCutcheon, Mertens, Parkhill, Poppe, Rusch, Sheldon, Snyder, Schroeder, Soderberg, Tiedemann, Warner, Wiley, Little, Gerard, Sharp, Sterling, Marshall, McCaffery, Tufts

----Source: THORP COURIER (Thorp, Clark County, Wis.) 11/14/1963

This issue of the “Thorp Courier” marks it eightieth year of publication and has reached is subscribers each week without fail.

Wm. Wagner Sr. started the paper with the issue of Nov. 23, 1883 and continued until his death in 1943. The “Courier” publishers now are Wm. S. Wagner, John J. LaGasse and Robert Elkins.

The subscription list of the newspaper has grown from four or five hundred copies to a total of 2800, and has also enjoyed the patronage of many local advertisers for years. New machinery and new methods have been added at the Courier office to help in recording the events of the community. Many rural correspondents have contributed to the success of this publication, together with happenings reported by local citizens and we hope to continue to serve the community with this support.

The following are names of some of the first subscribers of the “Courier”, and many persons of the same families are still subscribers. They are: Ole Anderson, E.A. Boardman, George Beachwood, Herman Banderob, Nels Courter, George Courter, James Connors, Du Gate & Schroeder, D.P. Elmendorf, F.W. Fultz, Peter Glasshof, H. Holzhausen, M.A. Hubbard, Peter LaFlex, H.C. LeRoy, John Melbinger, V.R. Mead, Dr. W.R. McCutcheon, M. Mertens, Geo. Parkhill, Chas. Poppe, Barney Rusch, Chas. Sheldon, Eli Snyder, Pete Schroeder, Aug. Soderberg, Chris Tiedemann, S.S. Warner, E.R. Wiley, Chas. Little, H.W. Gerard, W.H. Mead, John Sharp, Jos. Sterling, J.P. Marshall, Mike McCaffery, Wm. S. Tufts.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel