News: Neillsville - Co. A 128th Inf., 32nd Div., WWI (Reunion - 1963)


Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon



Surnames: Kohlman, Granton, Sweeney, Poole, Todd, Miller, Schulze, Kostka, Babb, Buelow


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) August 8, 1963


Co. A 128th Inf., 32nd Division, WWI (Reunion - 27-28 July 1963)


Co. A 128th Inf., 32nd Division of World War I, held their 33rd reunion Veterans Association in Cazenovia July 27-28, 1963.


For the two-day reunion 29 members registered. The Last 5-Man Club banquet was held Saturday night, with 44 members and guests attending.  The auxiliary prepared a banquet at the Legion Hall at 6:30.  Pres. J. Kohlman of Madison conducted the meeting.  New officers of the club are: H. Granton, president, and J. Sweeney, vice president, both from Reedsburg. On the roll of honor for 1963 are Charles Poole, Neillsville, Lester Todd of Granton, Rhinehart Miller of Reedsburg, Walter Schulze of Baraboo, and Tony Kostka of Reedsburg.  In the Last 5-Man club there are 61 active members. Four hundred fifty dollars in savings bonds will be divided between the last five members.


Sunday was a picnic dinner for members and guests.  After the dinner the Veterans’ Association held their meeting.  New officers are: J. Sweeney, president; T. Babb, vice president; Henry Buelow, Secretary-treasurer for both organizations; all from Reeds burg.  The secretary gave this report: killed in action in France, 1918, 57; others, 16.


Since the organization of the group on March 25, 1930, 91 members have died.


The first reunion was held at Reedsburg.  It was made up of National Guardsmen from Neillsville, Baraboo and Reedsburg.  For the first reunion the secretary sent out 200 cards; now it is 75.  An average of 40 members attends the reunions, but the number is going down with illness, etc.  The reunion is held the last Saturday and Sunday of July, the anniversary of the Battle of Chateau Therry. The next reunion will be held at Reedsburg, in 1964.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel