News: Neillsville Public Library (Summer Awards - 1963)


Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon



Surnames: Bauer, Harr, Thompson, Schoenherr, Lindekugel, Meihak, Patey, Richmond, Raine, Foemmel, Mallory, Volz, Baxter, Nelson, Bergemann, Brekke, Trogner, Sturtz, Diers, Short, Perkins


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) August 1, 1963


Neillsville Public Library (Summer Awards - July 1963)


The summer reading program of the children’s department of the Neillsville Public Library ended on July 24 and awards were given to 24 at a special meeting at the Library Wednesday.


This year’s theme was, "The Air and Space Age."   The boys and girls had to read at least three books on the subject from books selected from the library shelves. A total of over 900 books were withdrawn and read during the six weeks of the contest. 


A total of 40 boys and girls joined the contest. Twenty-four met the requirement of reading 10 or more books.


Those receiving certificates were: Michael Bauer, Kenneth Harr, Ann Thompson, Jay Schoenherr, Kay Lindekugel, Linda Meihak, Cathy Patey, Karen Richmond, Carol Raine, Douglas Foemmel, Vicki Mallory, Richard Harr, Sally Volz, Joan Baxter, Wendy Nelson, Jean Bergemann, Bonnie Brekke, Sandra Bauer, Sandra Volz, George Trogner, Candyce Sturtz, Linda Diers, Mary Jo Short, and Sandra Lindekugel.


Awards for reading the required books, as well as the most in each division, were given to: Michael Bauer, Kenneth Harr in the sixth, seventh and eighth grade division. Miss Ann Thompson received a special award in this division for having selected the best quality of books.


In the third, fourth and fifth grade division, awards went to: Carol Raine, Vicki Mallory and Richard Harr; and in the first and second grade division to Mary Jo Short, Linda Diers and Candyce Sturtz. 


The members of the library board were special guests on award day. The program was conducted by Mrs. Esther Perkins, children’s department librarian.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel