News: Weston Twp. (22 Oct 1959)


Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon



Surnames: Botnen, Hilliard Eslinger, Cowell, Landgraf, Gennett, Henning, Mitte, Pozega, Hagedorn, Bertrang, Swain, Rose


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) October 22, 1959


Weston Township (22 October 1959)


The Mothers Club of Fairview School held a harvest-time party Saturday evening to show appreciation to the entire district for its cooperation.  A large group gathered to play sheepshead, canasta, monopoly, bunco and traveling Bingo.  Prizes were awarded at each table.


A luncheon of pie, ice cream and coffee was served. Group singing was directed by Mrs. Olaf Botnen, (the teacher) and Mrs. Coy Hilliard.  Prizes and food were donated by club members.


The club started off the 1959-60 year with an election Friday afternoon.  Mrs. Stella Eslinger was elected president to succeed Mrs. Joan Cowell; Mrs. Leona Landgraf succeeds Mrs. Rose Gennett as vice president; Mrs. Leona Henning was elected secretary to succeed Mrs. Julia Mitte; Mrs. Joyce Pozega succeeds Mrs. Elaine Hagedorn as treasurer.


The club, which has been in operation several years, was very active during the year just closed.  Bags of candy were furnished children last Christmas, a new flag was presented to the school room; ice cream was furnished for the Easter Party; $5 was donated to the cancer drive; a traveling (words missed) proceeds going into the club fund for school and district benefit.




Orville Bertrang is employed in Milwaukee.


Mrs. Orville Bertrang and son, Terry, and Mrs. Jon Swain and daughters, Jerilynn and Joni Carol, visited the Edgar Rose family in Chestnut, Ill.; friends in Mt. Pulaski, Ill., and the Richard Bertrang family in Portage last weekend.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel