School: Neillsville, Wis. High School (Graduation - 1902)


Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon



Surnames: Haugen, Huntley, Frantz, Ritchie, Tragsdorf, Crocker, Stevens, Sturdevant, Marsh, Balch, Kerr, Longenecker, Ring, Matheson, Potter, Glass, Calway, Binder


----Source: The Neillsville Times (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) June 12, 1902


Neillsville, Wisconsin High School (Graduation - 1902)


With a crash of music from Whitcomb’s Orchestra, which was stationed at one side of the proscenium, the graduating exercises of the Neillsville High School for 1902 were opened.


A solid bank of ferns and vines, festooned at the top with roses, lilies and other showy products of the flower gardens, covered the space between floor and footlights, while on the stage, rising at either side were masses of green, giving soft lines to the stage.


When the curtain went up graduates: Arthur J. Hauge, Marian E. Huntley, Bessie B. Frantz, Robert M. Ritchie, Clara C. Tragsdorf, Alice F. Huntley, Blanche G. Crocker and Orville A. Stevens and school board - L. M. Sturdevant, S. M. Marsh and R. W. Balch - and Revs. Archibald Stewart Kerr and G. W. Longenecker - were "discovered", sitting in a semi-circle, while overhead the class motto, "Nothing Without Struggle," white on green background, hung like a rainbow of strenuous promise.


After one or two preliminary formalities and a song by Miss Ethel Ring, which was well received, Arthur J. Haugen gave the class salutatory entitled "Our Yesterdays."


Guy Matheson’s bass solo was well sung; also Dell Potter, Miss Daisy Glass and the Calway-Glass-Binder-Matheson quartette did well. 


Miss Glance Crocker’s rendition of "A Second Trial" was admirable, and "The Unknown Rider," by Rob’t Ritchie was a thrilling performance.


Miss Alice Huntley had been chosen valedictorian, and rose to the occasion with a happily rendered and interesting address.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel