School: Neillsville, Wis. Safe Schools (1958)


Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Peters 

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) December 11, 1958 

Neillsville, Wisconsin Safe Schools (1958) 

"The Chicago school fire," states Supt. D. E. Peters "has naturally turned the thoughts of people in all communities to the safety of their own schools.  I am glad to be able to report that the school buildings, under the jurisdiction of the Neillsville school board, meet the requirements in making them as safe as possible from a sudden entrapping fire that would endanger the lives of those in the building. 

"All furnace rooms are fireproofed to the extent of at least a two hour duration; excellent automatic fire alarms have been installed in all buildings where required; automatic heat controls are installed to keep from overheating; wastepaper and trash is not allowed to accumulate, but is burned each day; and fire escapes have been installed where required by the industrial commission.  

"Every room on the first and second stories of the elementary buildings has at least two doors to get out of and there are at least two opposite end outside outlets available to every person in any part of the building, in all buildings. 

"Practice fire drills show that all pupils can get out of Southside elementary school in 50 seconds, the Northside school in 60 seconds, and the high school in 90 seconds. 

"All furnaces and controls are carefully inspected at least twice a year by an experienced inspector.  It is impossible to make a building so called fireproof, but it is felt that the high school and the two elementary buildings now in use are safe and meet the requirements of the State Industrial Commission." 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel