Church: Loyal, Wis. - Methodist Father & Son Banquet (1958)


Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Bennetts, Decker, Peterson, Dixon, Haeuser, Stewart, Gordee, Sather, Kehrberg, Lulloff, Osterhaus, Syth, Schwarze, Christie, Kenyon, Huntzicker, Hill, Mason, Cox, Opdycke, Tieman 

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) June 12, 1958 

Father & Son Banquet (1958) 

The Rev. Wendell Bennetts, pastor of the Methodist Church in Loyal, spoke at the father and son banquet Friday evening in Grace Methodist Church. 

Donald Decker read a poem, "A Father to His Son;" JoAnne Peterson presented an accordion selection; and there was group singing, with Mrs. Donald Dixon as accompanist. 

Recognition was given to George Haeuser as the oldest father; Donald Decker, the most recent father; Robert Stewart for having the most sons and as being the most recent grandfather; Allen Gordee, son of the Earl Gordee’s as the youngest son; and to the Rev. Gordon Sather of Madisonville, Ky., as the son who came the greatest distance. 

The Rev. Sather also gave a short talk. 

Other "sons" from away who attended were: Wilbur Kehrberg and William Lulloff of Loyal and George Osterhaus of Plainfield. 

The meal was prepared and served by women of the church. The kitchen and menu committee included: Mrs. Arleigh Syth, Mrs. John Syth, Mrs. Otto Schwarze, Mrs. Hugh Christie, Mrs. Myron Kenyon, Mrs. Truman Hill, and Mrs. Maud Huntzicker.  

In charge of the dining room were: Mrs. Ole Sather, Mrs. Wilbur Stewart, Mrs. Arthur Christie, Mrs. Lloyd Peterson and Mrs. Donald Dixon, with JoAnne Peterson, Mary Syth and Carl Syth as waitresses.  Coffee was poured by Mrs. Alma Mason and Mrs. Minnie Cox.  In charge of tickets were Mrs. Edgar Opdycke and Mrs. Donald Tieman. 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel