News: Neillsville, Wis. High School Forensics (1955)

Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Vandeberg, Hagie, Wendt, Covell, Suckow, Hoesly, Kissling, Seif, Ylvisaker, Hoesly, Walter, Russell, Mabie, Botnen, Thompson, Meihack, Keller, Reese, Overman, Hanson, Kjer  

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.)  March 17, 1955 

Neillsville High School Forensics (1955) 

Fourteen are chosen in high school forensics - Local students to represent Neillsville at Thorp and Eau Claire 

Neillsville High School chose last Friday its representatives in forensics.  These will appear in Thorp at the Clover Belt League on Saturday of this week and at Eau Claire in the district contest on April 9.   

The representatives were those receiving first and second places in Neillsville, as follows: -- In original oratory, Joyce Vandeberg and Mary Lou Hagie; in learned oratory, Clarie Wendt and Charlotte Covell; in extemporaneous reading, Linda Suckow and Marlen Hoesly; in extemporaneous speaking, Donna Kissling and Wendell Seif; in four-minute speech, Betty Ylvisaker and Mona Hoesly; in humorous declamation, Gerry Walter and Bobbye Russell; in serious declamation, Cheryl Mabie and Karen Botnen. 

In addition to the foregoing, "A" ratings were won locally as follows: In serious declamation by Marie Thompson, Lorraine Meihack and Shirley Keller; in humorous declamation by Judy Reese; in extemporaneous reading by Kay Overman; in four-minute speech by Mary Hanson. 

The judge for the Neillsville forensics was Earl Kjer, head of the speech department at Eau Claire State College. 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel