Obit: Jahr, Lena (1859 - 1953)

Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Jahr, Steuerwald, Raine, Garrett, Behnky, Weinholt, Franks, Anderson, Nulton 

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) May 14, 1953 

Jahr, Lena (13 November 1859 - 8 May 1953) 

Mrs. Emil (Lena) Jahr, 93 of 13 Court Street, died Friday evening, May 8, at the Neillsville hospital, where she and been a patient since April 29, after falling in her home. The cause of death was a broken pelvis with complications. 

Final rites were held Monday, May 11 at 2 P.m. at the Bergemann Funeral Home with the Rev. Virgil Nulton officiating. Burial was in the Town of Grant Cemetery. 

Mrs. Jahr nee Lena Steuerwald, was born November 13, 1859, to Frederick and Christina Steuerwald of Washington County and received her education in Batavia. Her marriage to Emil Jahr took place Jan. 8, 1879, at Batavia, Wis.  After their marriage they moved to the Town of Grant, where they resided until 1926, when they moved to Neillsville.  Her husband preceded her in death in 1937.  For the last several winters, she stayed with her daughter, Mrs. Elsie Raine in Appleton.  She returned only a month ago to her home in Neillsville, where she had planned to spend the summer months. 

She is survived by two sons, Marvin and Walter Jahr of Neillsville and two daughters, Mrs. Elsie Raine of Appleton and Mrs. LeRoy (Myra) Garrett of Wilmington, Del.  Four half-sisters, Mrs. Ida Behnky, Sheboygan; Mrs. Amanda Weinholt, Sheboygan; Mrs. Lydia Franks, Los Angeles, Cal.; and Mrs. Emma Anderson, also of Los Angeles survive.  She also leaves four grandchildren and three great-grandchildren. 

Ten brothers and sisters preceded her in death. 

Mrs. Jahr was one of the oldest residents of the county. 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel