Property: Greenwood State Bank (Changes - 1900)

Contact: Duane Horn 


Surnames: Gilson, Sperbeck, Miller, Thompson, Shanks, Hartson, Bowen, Johnston, Bruengger, Gibson 

----Source: Greenwood Gleaner (Greenwood, Clark County, Wis.) 12 Oct. 1900 



Bank Changes


Greenwood State Bank Stock Bought by Local Capitalist--Newly Elected Officers and Directors--A Strong Institution.


Joseph Gilson and L. Sperbeck of Medford, were in the city Saturday and made arrangements to divide some of the bank stock in the Greenwood State Bank between local capitalists, as follows: J. C. Miller, B. F. Thompson, John Shanks, H. H. Hartson, Erastus Bowen, Wm Johnston and H. Bruengger.


They afterwards elected J. C. Miller, president: B. F. Thompson, vice president: and John Shanks, H. H. Hartson, E. Bowen, W. Johnston, R. Sperbeck and J. B. Stair, Jr., as board of directors.


While Mr. Gibson has practically owned this bank and has given the public one of the most careful and conservative institutions in this section, and one in which business public have vested unlimited confidence and trust, there still was feeling locally that more of the stock should be owned here and he has consented to divide it among men who will maintain its past integrity for the public's best interests.


When such men as named above invest in this bank, it means much for Greenwood. First, it is a renewal of the past implicit confidence; second, it gives additional local strength; third, it will make such men as J. C. Miller and B. F. Thompson permanent fixtures here.


The Gilsons and L. Sperbeck still retain stock in the bank and with this combination as it now is we are well pleased and can assure the investors that they will have full support of central and northern Clark county and believe it will make a profitable investment for the new stockholders.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel