Church: Abbotsford - St. Bernard’s Catholic (Confirmation - 1955)


Surnames: Treacy, Schwartz, Crubel, Burggraf, Hayden, Sheridan, Leketas, Hartung, Finucane, Schulz, Kelley, Dolan, Johnson, Piwoni, Harbut, Nikolay, Archambo, Wiese, Calmes, Melvin, Leichtnam, Brunkhorst, Young, Peterson, Kunze, Hutchins, Mueller, Zink, Selinski, Seidel, Keller, Kalson, Wagner, Mertens, Weber, Gierl, Fischer, Younker, Bumann, Hughes, Franz, Hoffman, Jarocki, Erickson, Zobrak 

----Source: Abbotsford Tribune (Abbotsford, Clark County, Wis.) 05/19/1955 

St. Bernard’s Catholic Church (Confirmation - 18 May 1955) 

A colorful procession of acolytes, members of the confirmation class and their sponsors met the Most Rev. John P. Treacy, bishop of La Crosse, and assisting clergy, outside St. Bernard’s Catholic church, Wednesday afternoon at 3:30. They entered the church as the choir sang "Ecce Sacerdos," and the ceremonies of confirmation began. 

The Rev. Vincent Schwartz, Colby, conducted the examination after which the Most Rev. John P. Treacy administered the sacrament of confirmation and gave a short talk. 

For the Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament, the bishop was celebrant, the Rev. Hubert Crubel, Owen, was deacon, and the Rev. J. Burggraf, of Wuerzburg, was sub-deacon. Congregational singing of "Holy God, We Praise Thy Name," closed the services. 

Other clergy present were the Very Rev. Msgr. Thomas Hayden, Dorchester; the Rev. Peter J. Sheridan, Spencer; the Rev. Peter Leketas, Neillsville; the Rev. Edward Hartung, Greenwood; the Rev. James Finucane, La Crosse; and the Rev. Raymond B. Schulz, Abbotsford. 

For the occasion the church was decorated with a profusion of flowers in the white and yellow papal colors. 

Following the ceremonies, the bishop imparted a special blessing on each little child and baby present. 

The visiting clergy were served dinner at the rectory and many of the confirmants were honored at their homes as relatives and friends gathered to celebrate the event. 

Following are those who were confirmed and their sponsors: 

Mary Kelley, Mrs. Clarence Dolan; Nancy Kelley, Mrs. Carl Johnson; Patricia Piwoni, Mrs. Harriet Harbut; Sharol Nikolay, Mrs. Royal Archambo; Juanita Wiese, Mrs. George Calmes; Delores Melvin, Mrs. Elmer Leichtnam; Beth Brunkhorst, Mrs. William Young; Priscilla Peterson, Mrs. L. Kunze; Darlene Hutchins, Mrs. Alfred Mueller; Katherine Zink, Miss Agnes Selinski; Marion Seidel, Mrs. Iva Seidel; Judith Keller, Mrs. Steve Kalson; Frances Wagner, Mrs. Frances Martens; Ruth Wagner, Mrs. Joseph Weber; Judith Gierl, Mrs. Oscar Seidel; 

Judith Zink, Edith Fischer; Darlene Younker, Mrs. Leo Bumann; Dorothy Hughes, Mrs. Leo Franz; Lynette Hoffman, Mrs. Walter Jarocki; Patricia Erickson, Mrs. Andrew Zobrak; Elizabeth .....missing content.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel